Thread: While having a team sleepover, coach mentions his CPL

While having a team sleepover, coach mentions his CPL

Interesting article. I think that the REAL issue could be a number of different things; something to think about, though, for those of us that work with students/ young adults in any capacity.

http://www.mlive.com/news/grand-rapi...t_prudent.html
    Giving up our liberties for safety is the one sure way to let the violent among us win.

"Though defensive violence will always be a 'sad necessity' in the eyes of men of principle, it would be still more unfortunate if wrongdoers should dominate just men." -Saint Augustine

Disclaimer – I am not a lawyer! Please do not consider anything you read from me to be legal advice.

Quote Originally Posted by DrTodd View Post
    Interesting article. I think that the REAL issue could be a number of different things; something to think about, though, for those of us that work with students/ young adults in any capacity.

http://www.mlive.com/news/grand-rapi...t_prudent.html
    I don't think the issue should be him saying he has a CPL. I remember my wrestling coaches talking about there are people who carry guns then there are people who carry guns and are willing to shoot you (defensive situation). It wasn't discussed with us but just them talking among themselves before practice. Many wrestlers were around. I do believe one of my coaches would carry into the school (retired LEO) but I doubt he carried during our practices.
    "No state shall convert a liberty to a privilege, license it, and charge a fee therefor.- Murdock vs Pennsylvania 319 US 105

...If the state converts a right into a privelege, the citizen can ignore the license and fee and engage in the right... with impunity.
    - Shuttleworth vs City of Birmingham, Alabama 317 US 262

Where rights secured by the Constitution are involved, there can be no legislation which would abrogate them.
    - Miranda vs Arizona 384 US 436