• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Traveling from Texas to Mississippi

temerick

I really want to get this right.

My situation:
1. I'm a TX resident and not a concealed carry permit holder (no permit of any kind)

2. My handgun will be left in my vehicle at all times

My questions while in Lousianna:
1. In my vehicle, does the handgun need to be exposed or can it be in a glove box?

2. Can the handgun be loaded and a round chambered

3. If pulled over for any reason, is it a requirement to disclose possession?

4. Are off the shelf hollow points illegal?

Thank you for any advice.

Tom

Last edited:

Wolfgang1952

Louisiana is and Open Carry State. No permit needed to OC. You can put your Gun anywhere in your car you want, loaded or not, up to you. You can set on it if you want to, but I don’t know why you would want to. The only thing is if you get stopped for anything I advise you tell the Officer that you have a gun in the car. Thats is just me.

Last edited:

sraacke

I really want to get this right.

My situation:
1. I'm a TX resident and not a concealed carry permit holder (no permit of any kind)

2. My handgun will be left in my vehicle at all times

My questions while in Lousianna:
1. In my vehicle, does the handgun need to be exposed or can it be in a glove box?