• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

2 Open Carry Questions

JS1993

So I've been searching around a tad, I'm quite new to the whole Open Carry stuff.
(In Wisconsin)

1. If you are not being "Lawfully Detained", do you have to present the officer with identification?

Answered:
Henes v. Morrissey (Article )

2. Is it legal to carry your firearm with a round chambered? (It seems I got confused after seeing that California requires it to be unloaded?)

Sorry if these have been asked before, searched around, read numerous articles, didn't find a very "clear" answer.

Last edited:

markush

2. Is it legal to carry your firearm with a round chambered? (It seems I got confused after seeing that California requires it to be unloaded?)

Sorry if these have been asked before, searched around, read numerous articles, didn't find a very "clear" answer.

Wisconsin does not require you to defend yourself with a neutered gun. Rack that slide and carry on!

Mike

Site Co-Founder
So I've been searching around a tad, I'm quite new to the whole Open Carry stuff.
(In Wisconsin)

1. If you are not being "Lawfully Detained", do you have to present the officer with identification?