Thread: Michigan Pistol

Michigan Pistol

got a call from a member who bought a Mossberg 500A JIC and he was forced to register it as a PISTOL

I am not versed in this part of the pistol law of michigan, so
    some of you who are, will you let him know here if the laws of a "Michigan Pistol" are the same as for a regular Pistol
    thanks in advance
    When Guns are OUTLAWED, Ill be an OUTLAW
    American Tactical Imports C45 45 AP
    S&W sigma 40 Cal
    Bersa 380 Thunder Plus
    Hi point C9 9mm
    Chiappa 1911-22 Semi-Auto .22 LR

Im not a lawyer, but I did play a Klingon once at Universal Studios

Quote Originally Posted by Onnie View Post
    got a call from a member who bought a Mossberg 500A JIC and he was forced to register it as a PISTOL

some of you who are, will you let him know here if the laws of a "Michigan Pistol" are the same as for a regular Pistol
    thanks in advance
    "Michigan Pistols" must abide by the pistol laws in Michigan. With a CPL he could keep it loaded in his car. Without a CPL he has to transport it like a pistol and not a long gun.
    "No state shall convert a liberty to a privilege, license it, and charge a fee therefor.- Murdock vs Pennsylvania 319 US 105

...If the state converts a right into a privelege, the citizen can ignore the license and fee and engage in the right... with impunity.
    - Shuttleworth vs City of Birmingham, Alabama 317 US 262

Where rights secured by the Constitution are involved, there can be no legislation which would abrogate them.
    - Miranda vs Arizona 384 US 436

Campaign Veteran Glock9mmOldStyle's Avatar

Question

Quote Originally Posted by xmanhockey7 View Post
    "Michigan Pistols" must abide by the pistol laws in Michigan. With a CPL he could keep it loaded in his car. Without a CPL he has to transport it like a pistol and not a long gun.