• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Concealed Carry affect on Open Carry

slatcher

I am somewhat new to following these forums as I was just recently brought to light on the ridiculous laws our state faces, when I decided I wanted to get a carry permit. I am a little confused as to the current laws for open carry. I fully understand the concealed carry laws and am thankful for the court's recent decision, but how does this affect Marylanders' rights to open carry?

Sonora Rebel

The MD PCH (Permit to Carry Handgun) has no caveate as to mode of carry. Don't expect the average knuckledragger back there to know that, particularly one in uniform. Especially brown uniforms. Due to the habit of referring to the 'permit' as a CCW by one and all. it's assumed (wrongly) that the permit is limited to concealed carry only. It is not. No 'law' will specify what you 'can' do... only what you can't.

Don't exect to get a permit anytime soon just because Judge Lotte says you should.

OC4me