Results 1 to 22 of 22

Thread: Repeal 2 year requalify requirement

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Washington soon to return to N.M.
    Posts
    38

    Repeal 2 year requalify requirement

    I saw a news clip online about eliminating the 2 year requalification. Is this a possibility? The reason was to get NM in line with other states.

  2. #2
    Opt-Out Members
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Clovis, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    219
    I started working on this in 2009, and have had it back on the calendar every year since then - except this past short session.

    http://www.nmlegis.gov/lcs/_session....gtype=B&legno= 507&year=09

    Why is this of interest to you in Washington?

    Steve Aikens

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Washington soon to return to N.M.
    Posts
    38
    As soon as my daughter's house sells I will be back to NM. I have been looking into the classes and they are too tactical for me. I am/was a hand gun hunter from the Dave Cargo / Bruce King era. I figure if the 2 year requalify requirement was abolished then the rest of the law would seem reasonable.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    454
    Quote Originally Posted by elebuttfish View Post
    As soon as my daughter's house sells I will be back to NM. I have been looking into the classes and they are too tactical for me. I am/was a hand gun hunter from the Dave Cargo / Bruce King era. I figure if the 2 year requalify requirement was abolished then the rest of the law would seem reasonable.
    What do you mean by tactical? The class I took was not tactical at all. It was actually geared toward complete beginners to tell the truth. Almost all of the classroom time was spent on going over the laws. There was some discussion on avoidance and de-escalation, but not much more than that.

    If you're coming back here, just take the course and get the license. It's really not that big a deal.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Washington soon to return to N.M.
    Posts
    38
    I'm sure your right it is not that big a deal. One instructor that I looked into does not allow "single action" firearms to be used in his class. That is all I own.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    454
    Quote Originally Posted by elebuttfish View Post
    I'm sure your right it is not that big a deal. One instructor that I looked into does not allow "single action" firearms to be used in his class. That is all I own.
    Semi's or revolvers?

    My instructor had a SA revolver as part of the class so everyone would know how to use them. He also had several others of his own out so people could check them out- both semis and revolvers.

    It was required to have your own gun/s and ammo for the course but he did end up letting a couple of people use one of his large S&W revolvers for the revolver qualification as they only had semis with them.

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Washington soon to return to N.M.
    Posts
    38
    He will not allow "cowboy" western style handguns. My firearm useage is for recreational purposes only, not interested in "packin" when I go to the mall or anywhere else. When I put on my coat because I got cold and my gun is no longer visable I do not want to be in violation of the law. I have a CC permit here in Washington but I do not carry. It allows me to have it loaded in my truck.
    Last edited by elebuttfish; 03-08-2012 at 04:22 PM.

  8. #8
    Opt-Out Members
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Clovis, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    219
    Quote Originally Posted by elebuttfish View Post
    As soon as my daughter's house sells I will be back to NM. I have been looking into the classes and they are too tactical for me. I am/was a hand gun hunter from the Dave Cargo / Bruce King era. I figure if the 2 year requalify requirement was abolished then the rest of the law would seem reasonable.
    Awesome. Happy to have you back. If there's anything else about of firearms laws you're unclear about - be sure and ask.

    You might peek at www.handgunlaw.us or www.nm-ccw.com for more details.

    Steve Aikens

  9. #9
    Opt-Out Members
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Clovis, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    219
    Quote Originally Posted by elebuttfish View Post
    He will not allow "cowboy" western style handguns. My firearm useage is for recreational purposes only, not interested in "packin" when I go to the mall or anywhere else. When I put on my coat because I got cold and my gun is no longer visable I do not want to be in violation of the law. I have a CC permit here in Washington but I do not carry. It allows me to have it loaded in my truck.
    Hmm. Though I don't mention 'cowboy western style guns' - I do not allow qualification of single action revolvers in my classes.

    "I will not allow qualification with any single action revolver or any compensated/ported firearm. If you intend to qualify with these or any similar firearms - insure you contact me before signing up for the class. You may not be allowed to qualify if other arrangements for a firearm are not made.

    This is a CONCEALED CARRY, PERSONAL PROTECTION COURSE! I reserve the right to disqualify any firearm during range sessions I deem unsafe or unsuitable for a concealed carry, personal protection firearm."


    Further, there are several other firearms I refuse to allow in my classes, as well as derringers. I'm certain other instructors will allow students to qualify with them - that's their business. I won't. If I know from experience that a particular firearm is unsafe, unreliable or for some other reason unsuitable for on-the-body concealed carry any student that wants to qualify with those firearms will have to find another instructor. My training and certifications - my policies.

    With 403 Approved Instructors in New Mexico, I don't think anyone will have trouble finding an instructor that's willing to accept qualifications for anything you want to shoot.

    Steve Aikens

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Washington soon to return to N.M.
    Posts
    38
    Thanks Steve, I am not after personal protection carry that is why I am calling it "tactical" , two hand hold , shoulders square to the target and in a semi crouched position firing double action and in the class room the related info pertaining to self defense and the like. My shooting is deliberate aimed and controled fire required for hunting. Again I put on a coat and it is then concealed. I will find someone, I did receive a PM from a fellow and I will be in contact with him. In Washington we have a 7 day wait on purchase of a short gun but the CC permit allows you instant pick up without the wait. Also we allow firearms in state parks. In this day and age if you travel or move you need to have a laptop and a lawyer along with your roadside emergency kit. Again thank you.

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
    Posts
    85
    This isn't legal advice, but ...

    Honestly if you're just going to be carrying your gun in the forest while you're hunting with no one else around I wouldn't even worry about putting a jacket over the gun. Just be sure it's off when you go into town for breakfast.

  12. #12
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Horse Thief, New Mexico
    Posts
    45

    500 S&W in my last class

    In my last NM CHL class there were two students that qualified with a 500 S&W revolver.

    One of them had been bear hunting last year on a cold, wet rainy day. His 500 was in a chest holster and due to the weather he kept it covered with his coat. He was "checked" by a NM Game & Fish officer who told him that if he caught him with it concealed again he would be cited for concealed carry without a CHL.

    His only reason for owning the 500 was hunting and not CCW, but due to the threat of a citation he felt the need to get a CHL for it.

    Depending on the reason it is entirly practical for someone to quailfy with a SA for a CHL.

  13. #13
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Washington soon to return to N.M.
    Posts
    38
    Gunscribe, yes this is exactly what concerns me. New Mexico law allows you to hunt with a handgun and any "resonable" person would understand that you may at times have to coverup with an article of clothing. Some how some way there needs to be an "exception to the rule". I am from the Dave Cargo, Bruce King era and back then people had common sense. I moved from NM in 2001 and I thought Washington was the most liberal thinking state that I had ever lived in. I would boast about how common sensed the NM gun laws were. WHAT HAPPENED? Washington laws are nothing compared to NM.

  14. #14
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cherry Tree (Indiana County), Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,155
    Qualify? Sounds like a guaranteed moneymaker for the instructors. Has anyone ever asked if "qualifying" accomplishes anything worthwhile? How many times does one have to read about police firing X number of rounds at a suspect, and hitting the suspect once or twice? How many times does one have to read about some police officer "accidentally" shooting himself? Remember, these are the supposed experts.

    Here in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania (definitely not the "Wild" West, although once upon a time it was the western frontier), to get a license which allows one to carry concealed (among other things), one must fill out a one-page application and fork over twenty bucks. Written test? None. Safety class? None. Firearms proficiency course? None. Fingerprints? None. Anything else? None. Over 700,000 residents possess a License to Carry Firearms. Problems? None.

  15. #15
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    454
    Quote Originally Posted by Statkowski View Post
    Qualify? Sounds like a guaranteed moneymaker for the instructors. Has anyone ever asked if "qualifying" accomplishes anything worthwhile? How many times does one have to read about police firing X number of rounds at a suspect, and hitting the suspect once or twice? How many times does one have to read about some police officer "accidentally" shooting himself? Remember, these are the supposed experts.

    Here in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania (definitely not the "Wild" West, although once upon a time it was the western frontier), to get a license which allows one to carry concealed (among other things), one must fill out a one-page application and fork over twenty bucks. Written test? None. Safety class? None. Firearms proficiency course? None. Fingerprints? None. Anything else? None. Over 700,000 residents possess a License to Carry Firearms. Problems? None.
    What's your point?

    You do what you have to do, if you want to have a license from this state.

    That's what we have to do, so those of use who want to, do it. Those of us who choose not to are welcome to that choice as well.

    You are fortunate to not have to do that. Good for you. But don't come in here and criticize, it does nothing constructive.

  16. #16
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cherry Tree (Indiana County), Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,155
    Quote Originally Posted by AH.74 View Post
    What's your point?

    You do what you have to do, if you want to have a license from this state. That's what we have to do, so those of use who want to, do it. .... But don't come in here and criticize, it does nothing constructive.
    The point is, you have to lobby your elected representatives. Ask them why they don't trust the citizenry. Ask them why you have to jump through additional hoops when other states don't require the same. Ask them if their additional requirements actually accomplish anything. Please, if necessary, use Pennsylvania as an example.

  17. #17
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    454
    Quote Originally Posted by Statkowski View Post
    The point is, you have to lobby your elected representatives. Ask them why they don't trust the citizenry. Ask them why you have to jump through additional hoops when other states don't require the same. Ask them if their additional requirements actually accomplish anything. Please, if necessary, use Pennsylvania as an example.
    Please read Steve Aikens' recent post about the political climate in this state, and his posts in this very thread. I have faith in the people who are doing all they can to enact such change. These changes don't just come about as easily as you suggest.

    All state laws are not the same. And most likely they never will be.

    In actuality, the requirements are not that big a deal. While they are more than yours, it's not so much of a burden in the grand scheme of things.

  18. #18
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Cherry Tree (Indiana County), Pennsylvania, USA
    Posts
    1,155
    Quote Originally Posted by AH.74 View Post
    In actuality, the requirements are not that big a deal. While they are more than yours, it's not so much of a burden in the grand scheme of things.
    From handgunlaw.us for a New Mexico CHL (Concealed Handgun License):

    (1) Complete two-page application
    (2) Photocopy of New Mexico Driver License of ID
    (3) $100.00 Application Fee (no cash) for a four year license
    (4) Certified Original Birth Certificate
    (5) Training Certificate (New Mexico Certified Instructors)
    (6) Two Fingerprint Cards, complete and signed
    (7) Health Information Release Form
    (8) Authorization for Release of Information

    For a Pennsylvania LTCF (License to Carry Firearms):

    (1) A photo copy of a license to carry a firearm (concealed carry permit) from your home state if that state has a concealed carry law. If from IL you should bring your FOID Card.
    (2) A photo copy of your Driver's License.
    (3) Names, Addresses and Phone #ís of 2 references.
    (4) $20.00 for five year license and out of state processing.

    True, every state is different and, compared to some, New Mexico's process is better than some. Of course, you don't issue nonresident licenses, and you have more restrictions on where you can and cannot carry, OC or CC. But, looking at what they're asking for your application, it appears they're assuming you're guilty until proven innocent.

    If my initial comparison comments offended anyone, I apologize, but we all have to work hard at getting our respective state legislatures to do a better, less-intrusive job on firearms laws.

  19. #19
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    454
    I know what the requirements are- I've gone through it here. You don't have to quote them for me.

    We here in NM know what we have to deal with. We don't need you to come in here and tell us how much less restrictive your state's laws are, and that we need to be more like PA.

  20. #20
    Regular Member XDm's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    ABQ
    Posts
    65
    I remember instructors talking about 2yr recertifcations but the licenses only reflect the 4yr span of valid dates. Does DPS track you down if you miss the 22-26 month window and revoke your permit? Anybody ever missed the recert?

  21. #21
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    143
    I doubt they will remind you. Mine expires this summer and I noticed I need to schedule for the 2 yr refresher within the window of time. I bet you have to start all over if you miss recert with the total training and application. I am hoping that the removal of the 2 yr recert happens next year....Steve has tried very hard to do this. We will just write letters all over again.

  22. #22
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    , ,
    Posts
    454
    I looked it up because I wanted to refresh my memory and verify if there is anything stated about missing the recert.

    As the recert is part of the the statutes and code the DPS is obligated to uphold the requirement. I would imagine there is something in their systems that tracks things to that end.

    NMSA 29-19-6:

    H. A licensee shall complete a two-hour refresher firearms training course two years after the issuance of an original or renewed license. The refresher course shall be approved by the department and shall be taken twenty-two to twenty-six months after the issuance of an original or renewed license. A certificate of completion shall be submitted to the department no later than thirty days after completion of the course.

    I. The department shall suspend or revoke a concealed handgun license if:

    (1) the licensee provided the department with false information on the application form or renewal form for a concealed handgun license;

    (2) the licensee did not satisfy the criteria for issuance of a concealed handgun license at the time the license was issued; or

    (3) subsequent to receiving a concealed handgun license, the licensee violated a provision of the Concealed Handgun Carry Act.


    The NMAC basically says the same things:

    NMAC 10.8.2.15 (A)(2) specifies the 2-year recert.

    NMAC 10.8.2.15 (A)(4) states that the DPS may suspend a license if the holder does not comply with the refresher requirements. There is a $5.00 fee to be paid upon compliance.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •