Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to ban OC at Hoedown..change venue

How to ban OC at Hoedown..change venue

WYCD and Detroit found a legal way to ban OC at the Hoedown this year...change venue. Now Comerica park is quite possibly public property as it is owned by an authority(there is that word again), but I highly doubt they will acquiesce and allow OC in Comerica Park. Good luck with the backlash for charging $30 for an event that has always been free.

http://www.freep.com/article/2012031...text|FRONTPAGE

I heard Comerica was owned by Ilich...? But I don't know....
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

Location 2100 Woodward Avenue
    Detroit, Michigan 48201
    Coordinates 42°20′21″N 83°2′55″W
    Broke ground October 29, 1997
    Opened April 11, 2000
    Owner Detroit-Wayne County Stadium Authority
    Operator Ilitch Holdings, Inc.
    Surface Grass
    Construction cost $300 million
    ($405*million in 2012 dollars[1])

http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Comerica_Park

Banned
    Would the "or regulate in any other manner" part of the law apply here?

Quote Originally Posted by stainless1911 View Post
    Would the "or regulate in any other manner" part of the law apply here?
    Have you not followed the CADL case? One judge already ruled authorities are not bound by preemption. Although not precedent yet, it seems foolish to fight that fight until our appeal is heard and hopefully won.

Banned
    Since it hasn't been settled, the judges ruling is just an opinion.

Since it hasn't been settled, the judges ruling is just an opinion.