Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Hospitals, colleges, schools and other groups are lining up to oppose SB59

Hospitals, colleges, schools and other groups are lining up to oppose SB59

http://www.mlive.com/news/index.ssf/..._river_default

snip-

The matter is not expected to be taken up by the full Senate until after the two-week break that begins Friday.

Representatives for public schools and hospitals say they will be ready.

“We knew this had been out there for about a year and then, ‘Boom!’” said Donald Wotruba, deputy director at Michigan Association of School Boards.

“We’ll alert out school board members across the state to call their lawmakers to oppose it.”
    Last edited by detroit_fan; 03-29-2012 at 12:25 PM.
    If guns cause crime, all mine are defective- Ted Nugent

Let's not forget select people from OCDO -- so-called 2A activists -- will be joining them
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

so now the bill won't be heard today? why would they do that and let all these people have 2 weeks to lobby against it before voting?

MHA shut them down. Leadership didn't want to risk bringing up the bill and having MHA attach to it. So they postponed it 2 weeks to let the leaders re-"whip" the caucus.

The opposition would have heard about it before it passed the house anyhow
    Last edited by TheQ; 03-29-2012 at 12:48 PM.
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.