Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: TigerLily New to Utah

  1. #1
    Regular Member TigerLily's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Polygammyville, Utah
    Posts
    138

    TigerLily New to Utah

    Hi. My name is Lily Gonzalez and I just moved to Utah with my husband of 30 years. I am a flaming open carrier from Las Vegas. I know that in Utah I can OC but no bullet in the chamber.

    Pardon me for "cheating" but if anyone has a source for me to review about the rules for OCing rifles, please advise. I plan to OC an AK-47 in Utah in a few days.

    In the meantime, I would love to get acquainted with you guys.

    Here's my latest blog post about OC-ing.

    http://tigerlilsblog.blogspot.com/20...d-on-open.html

    p.s. To get to LV, I have to go through a short distance through AZ - so any advice and sources about that are welcome (I know AZ is more liberal with their 2A.)
    Last edited by TigerLily; 03-31-2012 at 02:10 PM.
    YouTube OC activism vids: https://www.youtube.com/playlist?lis...ature=view_all
    TigerLily's Freedom ROAR Radio show
    Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/groups/TLRoar/
    Blog: http://tlroar.blogspot.com/
    http://guerrillalawfare.com/
    http://tigerlilsblog.blogspot.com/
    I don't ride to be safe, I ride to be free.

  2. #2
    Regular Member Gil223's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Weber County Utah
    Posts
    1,428
    Welcome to the forum! You might find this helpful...

    Utah Code
    Title 76 Utah Criminal Code
    Chapter 10 Offenses Against Public Health, Safety, Welfare, and Morals
    Section 505 Carrying loaded firearm in vehicle or on street.

    76-10-505. Carrying loaded firearm in vehicle or on street.
    (1) Unless otherwise authorized by law, a person may not carry a loaded firearm:
    (a) in or on a vehicle, unless:
    (i) the vehicle is in the person's lawful possession; or
    (ii) the person is carrying the loaded firearm in a vehicle with the consent of the person lawfully in possession of the vehicle;
    (b) on a public street; or
    (c) in a posted prohibited area.
    (2) Subsection (1)(a) does not apply to a minor under 18 years of age, since a minor under 18 years of age may not carry a loaded firearm in or on a vehicle.
    (3) Notwithstanding Subsection (1)(a)(i) and (ii), a person may not possess a loaded rifle, shotgun, or muzzle-loading rifle in a vehicle.
    (4) A violation of this section is a class B misdemeanor.

    Amended by Chapter 362, 2009 General Session

    Pax...
    MOLON LABE
    COUNTRY FIRST
    Glocks ROCK!

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
    Posts
    67

    Unhappy

    I miss you already, Tiger!

  4. #4
    Regular Member jpm84092's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,068

    Welcome to Utah

    Hello Lily,

    Welcome to Utah; one of the most 2A friendly states in the USA.

    I concur with the advice that it might be a good idea for both you and your husband to get a Utah Concealed Carry Permit. (You may already have a NV permit, you did not say.) However having a UT permit gives you more interstate reciprocity.

    Let me know if I can be of assistance.

    Jim
    My cats support the Second Amendment. NRA Life Member, NRA Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, & Personal Protection - NRA Certified Range Safety Officer, Utah BCI Certified Concealed Firearm Permit Instructor.
    "Permission Slips" from Utah, Pennsylvania, Nevada, Arizona, and Florida. _ Verily, thou shalt not fiddle with thine firearm whilst in the bathroom stall, lest thine spouse seek condolences from thine friends.

  5. #5
    Regular Member usmcmustang's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas, NV & Southern Utah
    Posts
    393
    Quote Originally Posted by NavyLCDR View Post
    Have you thought about getting the Utah permit so that you can carry a loaded gun?
    Don't think she's into the "getting permission" thing. No, wait a minute... I KNOW she's not into the "getting permission" thing.

  6. #6
    Regular Member jpm84092's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,068
    She may not be into the "permission thing", but the permission slip gets that bullet into the chamber. Just sayin-
    My cats support the Second Amendment. NRA Life Member, NRA Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, & Personal Protection - NRA Certified Range Safety Officer, Utah BCI Certified Concealed Firearm Permit Instructor.
    "Permission Slips" from Utah, Pennsylvania, Nevada, Arizona, and Florida. _ Verily, thou shalt not fiddle with thine firearm whilst in the bathroom stall, lest thine spouse seek condolences from thine friends.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Gil223's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Weber County Utah
    Posts
    1,428
    Quote Originally Posted by TigerLily View Post
    Hi. My name is Lily Gonzalez and I just moved to Utah with my husband of 30 years. I am a flaming open carrier from Las Vegas. I know that in Utah I can OC but no bullet in the chamber.

    Pardon me for "cheating" but if anyone has a source for me to review about the rules for OCing rifles, please advise. I plan to OC an AK-47 in Utah in a few days.
    That AK plan can get pretty expensive. There is an inconsistency in the interpretation of laws regarding OC of both handguns and long guns. Individual ordinances may go outside the state firearms law to restrict your RTKBA via obscure and vague disorderly conduct/public disturbance, etc laws, which essentially make it a "judgment call" on the part of a LEO. Here's an example of that from a KSL.com report:

    "Philip W. Taylor, a 51-year-old Orem man, was walking along the sidewalk adjacent to the mall with an assault rifle slung over his back and carrying a handgun.

    Orem police responded to the scene after receiving several 911 calls from alarmed shoppers.

    An officer approached Taylor and ordered him: “Keep your hands where I can see them.”

    Taylor responded, “Utah is open carry, officer.”

    Asked why he had a gun on him, Taylor again replied, “Utah is open carry.”

    “Not open carry for an assault rifle,” the officer replied.

    Taylor was handcuffed and detained for a few minutes, while officers determined the guns were unloaded.

    "I would think you honestly could do that now. Utah law says anyone (who is acting lawfully) would be able to openly carry guns anywhere."
    –Rep. Paul Ray

    While Taylor was not breaking the law for carrying the guns openly, police called his actions reckless and he was charged with disorderly conduct, a class C misdemeanor. It was also not the first time police had stopped Taylor over carrying firearms.

    "We dealt with him in the middle of December (2010), two days back-to-back for the exact same thing, walking down the street with guns that were not loaded, and in both of those circumstances, we checked him out and let him go like we did here," said Orem Police Sgt. Craig Martinez.

    Taylor was later convicted, fined $500 and placed on 12 months of probation. Terms of his probation require that he seek mental health evaluation and treatment, according to court documents."
    I would advise you to be very cautious about OC'ing an AK... unless you have an abundance of $500 bills just laying around accumulating dust. And the terms of his probation are subjectively Draconian... unless there is more to the story than was reported. Pax...
    MOLON LABE
    COUNTRY FIRST
    Glocks ROCK!

  8. #8
    Regular Member jpm84092's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,068
    The mental health evaluation part is the worst part of the punishment. If he is treated that will likely make him ineligible to purchase a firearm under Federal law and, thus ineligible to obtain a Utah CFP.
    My cats support the Second Amendment. NRA Life Member, NRA Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, & Personal Protection - NRA Certified Range Safety Officer, Utah BCI Certified Concealed Firearm Permit Instructor.
    "Permission Slips" from Utah, Pennsylvania, Nevada, Arizona, and Florida. _ Verily, thou shalt not fiddle with thine firearm whilst in the bathroom stall, lest thine spouse seek condolences from thine friends.

  9. #9
    Regular Member Gil223's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Weber County Utah
    Posts
    1,428
    Quote Originally Posted by jpm84092 View Post
    The mental health evaluation part is the worst part of the punishment. If he is treated that will likely make him ineligible to purchase a firearm under Federal law and, thus ineligible to obtain a Utah CFP.
    I completely agree... and, to add insult to injury, he probably has to pay for the treatment. The glimmer of hope is that he may not have to return to court after treatment, has not been "committed to a mental institution" and may never "be adjudicated" mentally ill. From the ATF form 4473:
    (Which [of course] came out ridiculously small, but if you click on the image it will pop-up in an easily readable size.) Pax...
    Last edited by Gil223; 04-18-2012 at 10:56 AM.
    MOLON LABE
    COUNTRY FIRST
    Glocks ROCK!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •