Thread: First time to OC and need to ask a (probabaly stupid) question re: city parks

First time to OC and need to ask a (probabaly stupid) question re: city parks

Hey everyone! I am new to handguns, very experienced with long guns, and have absolutely no experience in OC. I have been reading this forum, learning much, so thank you to all!

I joined today, and posted a recent telephone conversation made to Lebanon PD regarding OC. The officer acknowledged OC was legal, but any LEO I encountered may or may not have a problem with it.

I live near a city park that has wildlife (I have seen deer - always a doe or a fawn) and I have been warned of coyotes. In this particular park, owners frequently let their larger dogs off leash (especially two boxers and what appears to be a Jindo). Since I walk two Yorkshire Terriers, these larger dogs love to approach me...not always in a friendly fashion.

Because of the wildlife and the larger dogs, I want to OC while in the park for protection. I already carry pepper spray for jerk encounters.

The potential problem is there is a playground (slides, monkey bars, etc.) at one end of the park. Would it be legal and proper to OC even though the park is frequented by children? Some of these kids are quite young, but I must pass relatively close to the play area to access the trails, if I want a nature walk, and if I am just making a circuit of the park perimeter, I HAVE to pass the play area or return the way I came.

Does the presence of children impact the permissability of OC?

As long as its not in a school zone you will be fine just a few looks. Also if your dog is being attacked by another dog I do believe it is illegal to shoot the dog unless it is attacking you.

Accomplished Advocate color of law's Avatar
    Article I section 4 of the Ohio Constitution states: