Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Breaking the Law in Charleston?

  1. #1
    Regular Member rscottie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Ashland, Kentucky, USA

    Breaking the Law in Charleston?

    It appears that a friend of a friend may have inadvertently broken the law in WV by recently attending an event at the Charleston Civic Center. He has a valid Concealed Carry Permit from a state that WV recognizes. He did not notice the gun buster signs on the doors and said that the door he went through only said no smoking.

    Does anyone know what the penalty would have been had he been caught? Would this have been a felony or resulted in jail time? Would WV seek to have his home state revoke his permit?

    I have located the ordinance that applies but cannot find the penalties for any violation.

  2. #2
    State Researcher
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Lebanon, VA
    A violation of the Charleston city property carry ban ordinance (as well as any other Charleston city ordinance for which a lesser penalty is not specified) is a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of between $10 and $500 and/or up to 30 days in jail. See Charleston City Code 1-8. The effect of a conviction on a concealed handgun license would be determined solely by the laws of the issuing state (most states would not disqualify for this alone).
    Last edited by JimMullinsWVCDL; 04-21-2012 at 10:35 PM.
    James M. "Jim" Mullins, Jr., Esq.
    Admitted to practice in West Virginia and Florida.

    Founder, Past President, Treasurer, and General Counsel, West Virginia Citizens Defense League, Inc.
    Life Member, NRA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts