Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: What is required to Open Carry (18years old)

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Orem Utah
    Posts
    2

    What is required to Open Carry (18years old)

    Hey everyone, I just joined this forum. I currently live in Waukesha WI but I am moving to Orem Utah on June 18th. I just recently turned 18. I am buying a S&W Sigma series handgun from a private seller on Monday and I am not quite sure what to do from there. I have seen some places that if you are between the age of 18 and 20 in Utah you still need a permit to Open Carry. Is that true? If so, where do I find the form and requirements. Also, is there any restrictions on where it needs to be openly displayed. For example, could I wear drop leg serpa holster? Also, what do you guys think the best way to go about "registering" the gun would be? Should I wait to move to Utah to register it, or should I register it in Wisconsin and transfer the registration to Utah? I am a first time gun owner so I dont know much. What I do know is that everything I do must be legal since I am moving to Utah to study criminal justice law enforcement and any run-ins with the law will effect my future greatly.

  2. #2
    Herr Heckler Koch
    Guest
    Your question is better asked in a state specific forum, in this case Utah or Wisconsin. Wisconsin does not have or require registration.

  3. #3
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Fairfax County, Virginia, USA
    Posts
    8,613
    Utah requires a concealed handgun permit if you want to open carry loaded on foot. Loaded carry in vehicles OK without permit, openly or concealed. Unoaded is defined as 2 actions required to fire to fire - our understanding is that "Israeli carry," magazine in, no chambered round, is unloaded for purposes of Utah law.

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Orem Utah
    Posts
    2
    I am concerned because this site (http://www.opencarry.org/ut.html) says minimum age to Open carry "18 (Valid Permit Required). However, I have not been able to find any where that I would actually need a permit. I am willing to get one if I need too, but I cant even find any information on it. Please help me out with this.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Utah_Patriot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kearns, Utah, USA
    Posts
    715

    Welcome

    Welcome to Utah being 18 years old in Utah only allows Unloaded open carry. In order to be unloaded with a semi automatic firearm you can not have one in the chamber. So for example magazine loaded no bullets in the chamber.

    Without a permit you can not enter schools colleges. Since you do not have a CCW permit you have to be 21 years old in Utah to have a permit.

    That being said you may have a loaded firearm in your car as long as you have the owners permission also you may have a loaded firearm in your camp or house with the owners permission.

    If you may go pretty much anywhere except federal facility's ie federal buildings post offices ranger stations. You can not enter a mental facility like the state mental hospital.
    Zach
    8014487574
    "A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity"

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Stanwood, Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,471
    Also, unless you have a Utah permit, it is illegal (Federal law) to carry even the unloaded within 1000' of the premises of a school unless the gun is unloaded and in a locked case.

  7. #7
    Regular Member Utah_Patriot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Kearns, Utah, USA
    Posts
    715
    That law was repealed so their is no 1000 foot rule in Utah

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
    Zach
    8014487574
    "A fear of weapons is a sign of retarded sexual and emotional maturity"

  8. #8
    Regular Member bigdaddy1's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Southsider der hey
    Posts
    1,320
    Quote Originally Posted by Utah_Patriot View Post
    That law was repealed so their is no 1000 foot rule in Utah

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
    The GFSZ crap is Federal law, most states adopted the law but even if the state rescinded their respective law you still need to contend with the Feds.
    What part of "shall not be infringed" don't you understand?

  9. #9
    Regular Member OC for ME's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    White Oak Plantation
    Posts
    8,467

    What is required to Open Carry (18years old)

    Have a good lawyer, in Utah, on speed dial. Buy a recording device and use it if it is legal to do so. Turn it on when you walk out the door, turn it off when you walk back in at the end of the day.

    Ya gotta look 40-ish these day just to buy a pack of smokes....I ain't been carded for buying a pack of smokes in nearly 20 years....dag nab it.

    A 'just-turned-18' fella may attract unwanted LEO attention regardless of your legality. I'm not saying don't exercise your right, just be aware that some LEOs just plain suck at guessing that your are of legal age to OC just by looking at you. Then there are the LEOs that just plain suck at even knowing it is not illegal to OC....where it ain't illegal to OC, that is.

    I think there is even a thread around here someplace that may be of some small value to a young whippersnapper such as yerself.

    Good luck.
    I would rather be exposed to the inconveniences attending too much liberty than to those attending too small a degree of it.

    Politicians are the tyrants 3000 miles away; thug cops are 3000 tyrants 1 mile away. (Adapted from Benjamin Martin, fictional character extraordinaire)

  10. #10
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Stanwood, Washington, USA
    Posts
    5,471
    Quote Originally Posted by Utah_Patriot View Post
    That law was repealed so their is no 1000 foot rule in Utah

    Sent from my Galaxy Nexus using Tapatalk 2
    You might want to do a little bit more research on the Federal Gun Free School Zone Act of 1996, P.L. 104-208.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •