• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Gardner Open Carry?

Free2Carry

I don't think it is allowed. I am new to Gardner (moved here last fall) and after reading the city code the only thing that prohibited OC in Gardner is
10.3.2 CARRYING OR BRANDISHING A WEAPON.

(a) It shall be unlawful for any person to brandish any weapon in public view within the City.

(b) This section shall not apply to those persons exempted by Section 1 of Article 10 of the Uniform Public Offense Code incorporated by GMC 9.05.010.

(c) It shall be a defense that the person is a bona fide hunter and the firearm is not loaded.

Violation of this section is an unclassified misdemeanor.

After doing much reading on here and other state laws I was curious as to what the definition of "brandishing" is according to the powers that be in Gardner. I emailed the local police Captain and inquired. This is the answer that I received.

In reference to your question pertaining to the Gardner City Ordinance on “brandishing a weapon”, the definition is such that brandishing means openly carrying on ones person. Additionally it pertains to a weapon being within reach of a person while in a motor vehicle.