Thread: Question about new OC law
I had a question about required IDs with the just signed law. From here they stateand so I'm wondering, what exactly counts as an "Oklahoma ID?" The reason I'm asking is because I'm an Oklahoma resident, I have a UT driver's license (it is where I graduated HS and joined the military from), a UT CWP, and I'm military. I am planning on getting an OK HWP in about 7-8 months, but since I'm military I have no need (and thus no desire) to get an OK driver's license as my UT one doesn't expire until 90 days after discharge. So would the OK HWP count as an "Oklahoma ID" or would I need something in addition to this? Or is the whole "Oklahoma ID" just a bit of bad reporting?Oklahomans who plan to carry guns openly must also have a handgun license and an Oklahoma ID on them at all times.
i live in Nevada with a NV id. if i come out there i can open Carry right?
I looled at your new law, as posted here Senate Bill 1733 and got mightily confused. There are a lot of references to various sections of that Act that do not seem to exist. I surely do not want to jinx you Okies, but could those missing sections come back to bite you?
Rather than list every one I ran across, I'll just say that wherever the new law makes a reference to "Section XXXX.XX of this Act" you should go hunting for that section. I did and came up with missing stuff too often to be comfortable with. Many of the references were to "Oklahoma Self Defense Act this Act" if that helps.
"He'll regret it to his dying day....if ever he lives that long."----The Quiet Man
Because stupidity isn't a race, and everybody can win.
"No matter how much contempt you have for the media in all this, you don't have enough"
It's just a guess but - perhaps the purpose is to provide for some form of secondary photo I.D.- in case the licensee does not possess a driver license.
"Extremism ALWAYS brings about its own destruction " ( Sir Edmund Burke)