Thread: non-resident carrying in Michigan

non-resident carrying in Michigan

Hello all, I am new to opencarry.org, but have already found some great information here! I recently got a job in Michigan and will be commuting up there every week from Ohio (where I am a resident). I have a Florida non-resident ccw permit and know that Michigan will not honor it for concealed carry. However, I seem to remember reading something about how the non-resident florida permit will allow me to open carry in Michigan... is this correct? Also, will it allow me to merely posses a handgun in my part-time apartment I will be renting (I plan on keeping my Ohio residency). I know this has already been covered in other posts, but I am still very confused on these laws, hopefully someone can help me clarify. It would be very appreciated!!

Yes, it will allow open carrying.

Do however bear in mind that the federal gun free school zones act prevents you from carrying within 1,000 feet of a school without a license to carry in the state you are carrying in. The only real exception is on private property. Also, you won't be able to carry in a car.

The solutions you have available are to switch your residence to Michigan and register one or more handguns. Each registered handgun, by Michigan law, is "licensed" to carry, according to the wording of the law. This covers only legal OC in a defined set of circumstances. However, the "licence" never expires. This "license" requirement of registration is the same thing you'd be satisfying with your florida permit, the difference is that the Michigan registration satisfies the GFSZA's 1000 foot rule.