• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

non-resident carrying in Michigan

allens2

Hello all, I am new to opencarry.org, but have already found some great information here! I recently got a job in Michigan and will be commuting up there every week from Ohio (where I am a resident). I have a Florida non-resident ccw permit and know that Michigan will not honor it for concealed carry. However, I seem to remember reading something about how the non-resident florida permit will allow me to open carry in Michigan... is this correct? Also, will it allow me to merely posses a handgun in my part-time apartment I will be renting (I plan on keeping my Ohio residency). I know this has already been covered in other posts, but I am still very confused on these laws, hopefully someone can help me clarify. It would be very appreciated!!

Michigander

Yes, it will allow open carrying.

Do however bear in mind that the federal gun free school zones act prevents you from carrying within 1,000 feet of a school without a license to carry in the state you are carrying in. The only real exception is on private property. Also, you won't be able to carry in a car.