Thread: 1st Time

1st Time

I have been carrying concealed for a couple months now and I have made the decision to start open carrying. Does anyone have any advice?
    I will keep you posted

Know your local and state laws, be as calm and relaxed as possible, and carry a recording device.

Have fun!

Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PistolPackingMomma View Post
    Know your local and state laws, be as calm and relaxed as possible, and carry a recording device.

Have fun!
    What she said.
    You will not rise to the occasion; you will fall back on your level of training. Archilochus, 650 BC

Old and treacherous will beat young and skilled every time. Yata hey.

Quote Originally Posted by PistolPackingMomma View Post

Have fun!
    Don't worry about local laws as Indiana has full state preemption (when it comes to carrying a gun). Also do make sure you know Indiana's carry laws well.
    Last edited by xmanhockey7; 06-10-2012 at 08:57 PM.
    "No state shall convert a liberty to a privilege, license it, and charge a fee therefor.- Murdock vs Pennsylvania 319 US 105

...If the state converts a right into a privelege, the citizen can ignore the license and fee and engage in the right... with impunity.
    - Shuttleworth vs City of Birmingham, Alabama 317 US 262

Where rights secured by the Constitution are involved, there can be no legislation which would abrogate them.
    - Miranda vs Arizona 384 US 436

Some thoughts...(you probably already know these...)

Carrying it in "plain sight" seems to work just fine.
    Most folks seem to either ignore it or look at it and go back to what they are doing.

Only two that have questioned me is a former Ohio cop now living in Indiana (go figure), and a young lady that had never heard of the second amendment.

Just remember that there are "no carry" zones and respect business owners rights.