Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: GRNC Alert 6-11-12: Republicans Lose Spine on Restaurant Carry

  1. #1
    Regular Member rotorhead's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    FL
    Posts
    862

    GRNC Alert 6-11-12: Republicans Lose Spine on Restaurant Carry

    "GRNC Alert 6-11-12: Republicans Lose Spine on Restaurant Carry"

    http://grnc.org/grnc-alerts-archive/293-...rant-carry

    GRNC Update 6-11-12:
    Republicans Lose Spine on Restaurant Carry
    As restaurant workers die, NC Senate leaders hide under their desks

    Expectant mother and Flying Biscuit Café manager Danielle Watson was recently slashed to death at the restaurant she managed by an ex-con just released from prison. On the day she was to be married, she was instead buried. On the same weekend, also in Charlotte, restaurant worker Ed Rosen was murdered during a robbery by two thugs who remain at large. Elsewhere, eastern North Carolina has suffered a series of armed restaurant robberies, including two in which employees were herded into freezers where they could easily have been slaughtered.

    HOUSE BILL 111 WILL SAVE LIVES…
    Current law disarms not only restaurant patrons, but also restaurant workers. Except for the “owner or lessee” of the establishment, patrons and workers alike are prohibited from carrying concealed firearms for self-protection at any restaurant which serves alcohol, regardless of the fact that concealed handgun permit-holders are already prohibited from imbibing. Fortunately, HB 111 could give victims means to protect themselves and their families; it could give women going to or from restaurants means to defend against rape and murder.

    …BUT REPUBLICAN LEADERS ARE ABOUT TO KILL HB 111
    Although the bill passed the House last year and passed the Senate Judiciary II Committee last week, Republican Senate President Pro Tem PHIL BERGER and Rules Chair TOM APODACA sent HB 111 to the Finance Committee to die. You see, if it doesn’t get a floor vote in the Senate and a concurrence vote in the House by the time the legislature adjourns – likely next week – HB 111, like Danielle Watson, will be D.O.A.

    IN DIRECT CONTRAVENTION OF EARLIER PROMISES
    In a March GRNC meeting with Berger staffers GRANT BROOKS and SYLAR ADAMS, Berger’s staff promised they would NOT re-refer HB 111 to another committee after it passed in the judiciary committee – that they would not kill the bill by “running the clock,” a legislative tactic by which politicians kill bills without going on record.

    So why is Sen. Berger reneging on his pledge? Because, as Tom Apodaca reportedly admitted, Republicans are afraid that Democrats will come after them using misleading ads about “guns in bars.” Translated…

    While restaurant workers like Danielle Watson are dying,
    Republican leaders are hiding under their desks,
    afraid to act because they might get bad press!

    ACT NOW TO STOP RESTAURANT HOMICIDE!
    GRNC has tried to negotiate, and gun owners have exercised admirable restraint. But now the gloves have to come off: If YOU don’t act immediately, restaurant carry will die.

    IMMEDIATE ACTION REQUIRED

    • CALL PRESIDENT PRO TEM PHIL BERGER (919.733.5708) & RULES CHAIR TOM APODACA (919.733.5745): Tell them to send HB 111 to the Senate floor IMMEDIATELY!
    • EMAIL ALL SENATE REPUBLICANS using the copy-and-paste email list and message below to deliver either the pre-written message or your own.
    • CALL YOUR STATE SENATOR, whom you can find by going to: http://www.ncga.state.nc.us/representati...ntsMe.html
    (Note: You will need your 9-digit zip, which can be found on your driver’s license.)
    • HELP GRNC DEFEND GUN RIGHTS: GRNC is all-volunteer and member-funded. We want to run radio spots in Raleigh to move HB 111, but it will require serious money. Please join or contribute by going to: https://ssl4.westserver.net/grnc.org/join.html!

    CONTACT INFO

    Austin.Allran@ncleg.net, Tom.Apodaca@ncleg.net, Phil.Berger@ncleg.net, Stan.Bingham@ncleg.net, Harris.Blake@ncleg.net, Andrew.Brock@ncleg.net, Harry.Brown@ncleg.net, Peter.Brunstetter@ncleg.net, Chris.Carney@ncleg.net, Warren.Daniel@ncleg.net, Jim.Davis@ncleg.net, Don.East@ncleg.net, Thom.Goolsby@ncleg.net, Rick.Gunn@ncleg.net, Kathy.Harrington@ncleg.net, Fletcher.Hartsell@ncleg.net, Ralph.Hise@ncleg.net, Neal.Hunt@ncleg.net, Brent.Jackson@ncleg.net, Wesley.Meredith@ncleg.net, Buck.Newton@ncleg.net, Louis.Pate@ncleg.net, Jean.Preston@ncleg.net, Bill.Rabon@ncleg.net, David.Rouzer@ncleg.net, Bob.Rucho@ncleg.net, Dan.Soucek@ncleg.net, Richard.Stevens@ncleg.net, Jerry.Tillman@ncleg.net, Tommy.Tucker@ncleg.net, Wes.Westmoreland@ncleg.net

    DELIVER THIS MESSAGE
    (Suggested subject line: “STOP RESTAURANT HOMICIDE: MOVE HB 111”)

    Dear Republican Senator:

    Expectant mother and Flying Biscuit Café manager Danielle Watson was recently slashed to death at the restaurant she managed by an ex-con just released from prison. On the day she was to be married, she was instead buried. On the same weekend, also in Charlotte, restaurant worker Ed Rosen was murdered during a robbery by two thugs who remain at large. Elsewhere, eastern North Carolina has suffered a series of armed restaurant robberies, including two in which employees were herded into freezers where they could easily have been slaughtered.

    House Bill 111 (“Amend Firearms Law”) would give restaurant employees and patrons the means to defend themselves against violent thugs, yet Senate Republican leadership is trying to stall the bill to death with unnecessary committee referrals instead of sending it to the floor for a vote.

    According to Senator Tom Apodaca, the reason is that Republicans are afraid Democrats will use misleading “guns in bars” ads against them. So while restaurant workers like Danielle Watson die, Republicans hide under their desks for fear of bad press.

    Senate Republicans need to develop spines and do the right thing: Stop restaurant homicide by sending HB 111 immediately to the Senate floor for a vote. I will be monitoring this issue via Grass Roots North Carolina legislative alerts.

    Respectfully,
    ----------------------
    © 2012 GRNCFFE, Inc. All rights reserved. Reproduction and distribution is permitted provided full attribution is given and the item is reprinted in its entirety. Address questions to: President@GRNC.org
    ----------------------

    You may find your NC STATE representative by going here:
    http://www.grnc.org/contact_reps.htm

    You may write your FEDERAL congressman by going here:
    http://www.house.gov/writerep/

    You may write your FEDERAL senators by going here:
    http://www.senate.gov/

    -------------------
    Support these PRO RKBA merchants who, as GRNC sponsors, are supporting your Second Amendment rights:

    Hyatt Gun Shop, 3332 Wilkinson Blvd., Charlotte, NC 28208, 704-394-0387, http://www.hyattguns.com
    C & E Gun Shows, 4225 Fortress Drive, Blacksburg, VA 24060; Phone 540-953-0016 or 888-715-0606; http://www.cegunshows.com/
    Dixie Gun and Knife Shows, PO Box 21049, Raleigh, NC 27619, ph: 919-781-1287, http://www.dixiegunandknifeshow.com/
    Ryan & Nina Leonard, Down South Ammo, Home of "SOUTHERN THUNDER" Exploding Targets, http://downsouthammo.com/
    Duncan Gun & Pawn, 414 Second St., North Wilkesboro, NC 28659, 336-667-6303, http://www.duncangun.com
    Shooter's Express, 2 Caldwell Dr., Belmont, NC 28012, 800-358-GUNS, http://www.shootersexpress.com
    The Aisle Pawn Shop, 216 N. Main St., Mooresville, NC 28115, 704-663-5656
    Gunner's Alley, LLC, 203 N. Harrison Ave., Ste. 130, Cary, NC 27513, http://www.gunnersalley.com, 919-388-1991, contact: Ed Guerriero, ed@gunnersalley.com
    Lake Norman Firearms, Inc., 20823 N. Main Street, Cornelius, NC 28031, http://www.lknfirearms.com, 704-892-7839
    Vanguard Security Consulting, LLC, 19135 W. Catawba Ave, Cornelius, NC 28031
    DoubleD Media, 8300 Raintree Lane, Charlotte, NC 28277, ph: 704-650-5555, fx: 704-544-0326, donna@doubledme.com
    Sterling Pistols, custom pistols, FFL transfers, general repairs, Glock enhancements, 704-840-7625

  2. #2
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Monroe, NC
    Posts
    15
    email sent

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •