Thread: National Forest Rangers encounter

National Forest Rangers encounter

Hello everyone,

Ive been looking thru the different topics for a couple of months now but this is my first time posting. First of all thank you all very much for the great info and the efforts to keep the rights to keep and bear arms alive.

On to my story,

I was out camping this passed weekend in National Forest and at some point of the day my family and some friends decided to pull out our firearms and do some practice shooting. We had probably already gone thru a couple hundred rounds when 2 Rangers walk up to us and tell us we're going to need to stop shooting. They told me they were going to have to ask me to stop because I was too close to the road and other campers where getting worried. At that point I told him I was following all regulations for shooting outdoors. I was at at least 150 feet from any road or campers ( I was actually 1/4 mile away from any road and over 500 feet from any other camper). So I did not see what the problem was. Again he said the shots could be heard from the road......... I kind of just looked at him in silence.