• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

National Forest Rangers encounter

GTShooter

Hello everyone,

Ive been looking thru the different topics for a couple of months now but this is my first time posting. First of all thank you all very much for the great info and the efforts to keep the rights to keep and bear arms alive.

On to my story,

I was out camping this passed weekend in National Forest and at some point of the day my family and some friends decided to pull out our firearms and do some practice shooting. We had probably already gone thru a couple hundred rounds when 2 Rangers walk up to us and tell us we're going to need to stop shooting. They told me they were going to have to ask me to stop because I was too close to the road and other campers where getting worried. At that point I told him I was following all regulations for shooting outdoors. I was at at least 150 feet from any road or campers ( I was actually 1/4 mile away from any road and over 500 feet from any other camper). So I did not see what the problem was. Again he said the shots could be heard from the road......... I kind of just looked at him in silence.