• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Non-Resident Proof of training

billv

I live in Texas, where I have my CPL. I obtained another CPL from AZ (which requires proof of training) and they accepted my TX CPL as proof of training, since TX requires training and proficiency.

I've been shooting for over 2 years, and have taken several classes on shooting for pistols and carbines, home defense and will be taking one for concealed carry tactics this month.

I conceal carry all the time. I would open carry if it were legal here. :banghead:

I also shoot with a local group in competitions (http://www.txdpsa.com), but the group is not affiliated with USPSA or IDPA. Just a local group that get's together and shoots once a month. I do it for the fun and also for the practice in shooting under stress. I'm not sure that this would qualify as an "organized shooting competition" since it not affiliated with any national group. I am not sure how I would provide proof that I shoot with them.

Besides the above, I also go to the range at least once or twice a month.

I know how to shoot my 45 and hit what I aim at.

Looking at the FL training requirements (http://licgweb.doacs.state.fl.us/firearms/acceptable_training_documentation.html), it does not seem that FL will take as proof my TX CPL, like AZ did.