Thread: 5.11 Tactical pants/shorts

5.11 Tactical pants/shorts

I have been visiting Florida each year for two decades. Each time I CC (pocket carry) and am pretty sure the gun/pocket-holster itself won't be seen and probably won't print bad enough to get a LEO attention.

Over the last two years I have worn out and cycled through my shorts such that the majority of my new shorts are 5.11 shorts with a magazine pocket in the front. I love the functionality and in Virginia there is no issue with them.

My question to Floridians is, "Would the fact that a magazine pocket seemed occupied on the front of my shorts make a LEO think I was printing or CC-ing and cause me pain and suffering?"

I guess I could go pick up a few generic cargo shorts but wanted to see how sensitive that Florida's LEA were to printing and to what extent.

Thanks for any input.

Activist Member
    A magazine printing in no way looks like a firearm. They could not charge you for exposing/printing your firearm because it is not a firearm. Not to mention an officer would not have probable cause to search you just because there is something in your pocket that is shaped like a rectangle. A magazine in your pocket is much different than a firearm.
    "I never in my life seen a Kentuckian without a gun..."-Andrew Jackson

"Guard with jealous attention the public liberty. Suspect every one who approaches that jewel. Unfortunately, nothing will preserve it but downright force. Whenever you give up that force, you are ruined."-Patrick Henry; speaking of protecting the rights of an armed citizenry.

Wearing a too-tight tee shirt with "I'm carrying a concealed weapon" isn't Legally a reasonably articulable suspicion of illegal activity. There is no "printing"offense in the Florida code as far as I know.

Q. When is a Handgun "Concealed?"