Thread: 3D printing and making real guns?

Gobles, MI

3D printing and making real guns?

-- SNIP --

All of this might sound exciting, alarming, or nonsensical, depending on your personal beliefs and familiarity with guns and gunsmithing. Setting aside any moral leanings, the fact is that the idea will need to overcome significant material and legislative hurdles before you can crank out a working, legal, 3D-printed gun in the United States. On the physical side, the ABS printing plastic might not be strong enough to make a stable enough weapon. And law-abiding, gunsmithing Americans must first face numerous federal, state, and local gun regulations and bureaucratic procedures that may not take kindly to people printing their own firearms.

None of that means printing a gun is impossible.

New Hampshire
    I work on these printers for a living and on the higher end systems, the Fortus 400 and 900, you could easily print a gun which would fire one or two shots before failure using Ultem 9085 or PPSF. Think of something along the lines of a Liberator from WWII, use it to get a real gun, then toss it. It would be bulky because to withstand the firing pressure the barrel walls would have to be very thick, but as noted in the article several viable defense rounds have lower SAAMI pressures than even a .22LR. Admittedly, those systems start right around $100K, now, but in the not too distant future I can see something in the high 4 figure range that can handle the stronger plastics. They currently have a small printer, 5' cube max size, that sells for under $10K, the Mojo that is mentioned in the article.

Port Orchard, Washington, United States
    I'm wondering what hurdles one would have to jump over when printing their own guns.
    (A6) Does the GCA prohibit anyone
    from making a handgun, shotgun
    or rifle?
    With certain exceptions a firearm
    may be made by a nonlicensee provided it is not for sale and the maker
    is not prohibited from possessing