Thread: No guns sign at DHS legal?

No guns sign at DHS legal?

I can't post the picture from my phone right now, but there is a no gun/weapons sign at the Department of Human Services building in Muskegon. Is it legal?

DHS is a child placement agency, making it akin to a sports stadium as far as CC/OC goes.
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

Quote Originally Posted by TheQ View Post
    DHS is a child placement agency, making it akin to a sports stadium as far as CC/OC goes.
    So I can OC with a CPL?

Quote Originally Posted by backenj View Post
    So I can OC with a CPL?
    It's akin to a bar/sports stadium, etc.

To say you can OC with a CPL over-simplifies the matter. See People v Watkins.
    Last edited by TheQ; 10-19-2012 at 11:29 AM.
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

Actually, I think they consider it more like a day care center or something. But I might be wrong.
    Big Gay Al
    Coordinator, Michigan Pink Pistols
    Big Gay Al's Big Gay (Gun) Blog
    Fabrique Nationale d'Herstal FNX-45 .45ACP 16 rounds of hurt.

Campaign Veteran
    Department of Human Services is a political subdivision of the executive branch of the State.

They are not preempted by the legislature.