• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Very New to Open Carry...

rwasham

I'm very new to the idea of Open Carry so please forgive my ignorance. I've been aware of it's existence for a while, but this site is my first big foray into figuring out what it's all about. My question is this. Though complying with Police requests to answer questions and be detained, in cases of open carry, is quite a hassel and often clearly a violation of a person's rights (in most jurisdictions? or all?), It seems to me that life is easier for everyone if you comply. Officers can ascertain your intentions, and you can make it clear what those intentions are so that you are not incorrectly marked as a criminal. It seems that most of the situations I've read about and seen videotaped on YouTube only escalate with non-compliance. I dont see Officers stepping down hyper-vigilance in the face of armed citizens. It seems to me that many true criminals have forever ruined that portion of the right for all of us, however, it seems that, giving cops the chance to work with you instead of against you will result in better encounters for everyone. I'm sure there are cases with specific officers where even this doesnt work, but these same cops will probably be dicks regardless of your attitude towards them. Am I missing something? Like I said b