Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: CADL reversal and open carry in schools

CADL reversal and open carry in schools

Does the recent reversal of the CADL case have any immediate effect on the recent incidences of schoold districts banning open carry in their schools?

Funny you ask. Same thing being discussed on MCO. I'll summarize 4 pages of discussion: we don't know.
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

Michigan Codified Law 750.237a(5)(c), as is found within Chapter XXXVII of ACT 328 of 1931, says that The Provisions of what is Considered 'Proscribed Conduct' does NOT Apply to any Person who is: '...[L]icensed by This State or another State to Carry a Concealed Weapon.' .

The Argument that 'Schools' are NOT 'Local Governmental Units' as are Defined under Section 1102(a) of Chapter 123 under ACT 319 of 1990, may NOT Defend a School under Attack for its Illegal Policies Pursuant to The Order and Llweyn Argument that The Michigan Appeals Court Issued against CADL.

The Michigan Appeals Court did, however, have 1 Lone Dissenting Justice who Left Open The Argument that Legislative Oversight may be Needed to Correct The Current Deficiency in what Michigan Considers a Local Governmental Unit. I Surmise that The Following Language be Inserted within The Statute: