Thread: RUN. HIDE. FIGHT. Surviving an Active Shooter Event

RUN. HIDE. FIGHT. Surviving an Active Shooter Event

The city of Houston, TX has produced a video on this subject, and it boils down what you should do to three simple words: Run, hide, fight.

If there is an active shooter in the building, experts said your first instinct should be to run. Get out quickly and quietly, take others with you if you can, but don't let people who resist running slow you down.

If it is too late to evacuate, hide. Get behind a locked door, or blockade it. Stay behind large objects that could protect you from gunfire. Silence your cell phone, and stay as quiet as possible.

Finally, as a last resort, and only if your life is in danger, fight.

This video was made with the help of a grant from the Department of Homeland Security.

What are your thoughts?
    I'm not a lawyer, psychologist, or LEO. This means, don't rely on my opinion to work for you.
    But I am a railroad conductor.
    “Breathes their a man with a soul so dead, that does not thrill to the sound of a passing train?”

If the active shooter is not specifically interested in me, those might be my priorities, too, and I certainly retain the option to save my own ass at the expense of the sheep. Disclaimer: I didn't watch the video.
    "It's not important how many people I've killed. What's important is how I get along with the people who are still alive" - Jimmy the Tulip

Several things come to my mind

1) They admit in the first minute of the video that police cannot protect you at all times