Thread: Seeking case law...warrantless search after arrest

Seeking case law...warrantless search after arrest

Regarding officer safety & warrantless searches- If a cop arrests you, cuffs you, and then takes you into your home, with you still cuffed, does that give them the right to search your home without your consent? IIRC that doesn't, because they voluntarily enter your home and have no reason to be concerned that you're going to grab a weapon or destroy evidence because you're cuffed with your hands behind your back.
    Last edited by Logan 5; 11-28-2012 at 03:07 AM.
    Lifetime member, Gun Owners of America (http://gunowners.org/)
    Lifetime member, Jews for the Preservation of Firearm Ownership (http://jpfo.org/)
    Member, Fraternal Order of Eagles since 8/02 (http://www.foe.com/)

Registering gun owners to prevent crime, is like registering Jews to prevent a HOLOCAUST.

I am not a lawyer in real life, or in play life. So anything I say is for debate and discussion only.

Founder's Club Member
    I have come across a very few cases--like maybe two--on the subject. Recently, say within the last year and a half.

I don't recall the details or even the case names. I only have a vague recollection of the outcomes. But, I'm pretty sure cops can warrantlessly search the inside of the house, even if they don't take the arrestee inside. Say, the cops arrest someone on the front porch. The rationale seems to be a protective sweep for other people who may be dangerous to the cops, for example, someone who may attack the police or try to liberate the arrestee. This sort of search would, I think, be limited to looking in places where a person could hide--closets, under beds, etc--but not inside dresser drawers and other places too small for a person to hide. Under the plain view doctrine, if the cop sees something illegal during his protective sweep, those items probably are admissable.