Thread: Sir, are you a police officer?

Sir, are you a police officer?

1005 pm Seatac airport baggage carousel #2

I'm waiting with my son who has arrived from NYC for his baggage. We are standing off to the side (as I usually do) till the baggage starts moving. A lady comes near and asks if I am a police officer to which I smile and reply "no ma'am." I'm just one of the many private citizens here in Washington who carry for protection. The usual questions flow back and forth; they let you carry like that, what do you mean no license is required? You'd never see that in NY.... We talked about the past few weeks and shootings and my thoughts, their thoughts. A few other people have listened in and give their input and at this point no one is upset by it, except for one guy who this whole time has a disgusted look on his face. He asks the question of what if someone took it from me when I wasn't looking to which my son speaks up and says that's why we stand like we do so we can see each others back, so no one can just sneak up on my dad. Turns out he is a cop in NYC, who IMHO is anti-gun for citizens & clearly dislikes Open Carry.

The ladies and I chat a bit more about the licensing requirement for Washington, then the luggage starts to arrive and we make a break for the bags.

Overall a good OC discussion with the passengers and NO interaction with the Port Police....

Sounds like a good educational experience for them, too bad the one cop is so closed minded that he has to be disgusted.
    - have a good holiday

Bat
    ~ ENCLAVE vmc ~
    The Enclave is looking for patriotic motorcycle riders in Washington State who support liberty and freedom for all. ~ Check us out!
    ~
    * " To be swayed neither by the opponent nor by his sword is the essence of swordsmanship." - Miyamoto Musashi.

Quote Originally Posted by Bill Starks View Post