Thread: Blood tests protected under 4th Amendment says Supreme Court

Blood tests protected under 4th Amendment says Supreme Court

http://usnews.nbcnews.com/_news/2013...amendment?lite

Justices indicated Wednesday that the dangers of drunken driving don't trump the Fourth Amendment, peppering lawyers for the state of Missouri with objections to their request that the Supreme Court allow law enforcement to order blood tests for DUI without suspects' consent.

The case, Missouri v. McNeely, is seen as a landmark that could clear up almost 50 years of uncertainty over the constitutionality of blood tests that are conducted without a warrant. Legal scholars say it could rewrite drunken-driving laws in all 50 states.
    I Am Not A Lawyer, verify all facts presented independently.

It's called the "American Dream" because you have to be asleep to believe it. - George Carlin

I carry a spare tire, in case I have a flat. I carry life insurance, in case I die. I carry a gun, in case I need it.

Banned
    IANAL, but what does this do to "implied consent"? Is that concept gone?

In their infinite wisdom the State of Idaho has determined that your driver license is consent to this violation of your body.

Banned
    Reeeeead the transcript .... appears as if SCOTUS will rule against the taking of blood w/o consent or a warrant. A DUI case.

Of course, the court may rule otherwise..
    Last edited by davidmcbeth; 01-09-2013 at 07:01 PM.

Correct me if I am wrong, but don't the 4th amendment protections end with "reasonable suspicion"?

Founder's Club Member
    The damned thread title is misleading. SCOTUS hasn't ruled on this yet.
    I'll make you an offer: I will argue and fight for all of your rights, if you will do the same for me. That is the only way freedom can work. We have to respect all rights, all the time--and strive to win the rights of the other guy as much as for ourselves.