Thread: Do CPL laws apply to Kimber's pepper blaster "gun"?

Do CPL laws apply to Kimber's pepper blaster "gun"?

http://www.pepperblaster.com

I have been looking at theses things or a few years now and still I am asking myself dose the state CPL laws apply to this new "gun" from Kimber? We all know it is not a gun but it dose resemble one in appearance. Kimber is now making holsters for it for EDC making it look all the more firearm in appearance. I know it is not a gun, you know it is not a gun but what would the police think? Do you think you could get a violation for covering up this pepper blaster with your jacket if it was in a holster and on your belt?
    "Fight like you train, train like you fight"

MOC Charter Member Westland, Michigan, USA
    In MICHIGAN

The Kimber PB is not a gun!

pepper spray isn't preempted either, so be careful.
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

If I remember Michigan has a 3% limit on the strength (oleoresin capsicum) and that might be the tripping point. I see nothing in that ad that indicated the concentration.

Okay I found a wiki page quote "The state of Michigan allows "reasonable use" of spray containing not more than 10% oleoresin capsicum to protect "a person or property under circumstances that would justify the person's use of physical force".[47]"

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pepper_spray

still looking for an official source...

more here..

http://www.michiganvotes.org/Legislation.aspx?ID=117495

getting closer..

OKAY finally found something....

http://www.legislature.mi.gov/%28S%2...e=2010-HB-6053