Thread: New here, new to OC. Introduction Thread

New here, new to OC. Introduction Thread

Hey everyone. Long time lurker, thought I would finally post and introduce myself.

I live in Columbia county, around the Portage area. I'm a firefighter and an EMT, so I have a pretty good report with a lot of the Deputies generally in the area. I've been a gun enthusiast all my life, but just recently bought my first handgun. I've been reading and pouring over the forums trying to soak up as much info as possible, and I've think I'm almost to the point that I'm confident to OC just about anywhere I go.

I actually had my first OC in public experience on Saturday. My wife and a buddy of mine were in Madison and he wanted to stop in Gander Mountain. Knowing their policy on OC/CC, and being in a store full of customers and associates who were familiar with guns, I OC'd in the store. Went off without a problem. No suspicious looks, no calls to police, etc. The only reaction I got was out of a child, probably 4 or 5 years old. I was in the bathroom, walked up to wash my hands. Little boy and his father walk in, and the boy looks at me, looks at his dad and goes "Daddy he has a gun!" The father turned, looked at me, gave me a smile and a wink and told his kid it was okay, I was one of the good guys. Pretty good experience.

I do have one question, Does anyone have experience OC'ing in the Pardeeville/Portage/Wyocena area? I frequent the Cenex station in Wyocena, Dollar General and Piggly Wiggly in Pardeeville, and WalMart in Portage. (Mostly for the wife) I know WalMarts policy on OC, and that will be my next public adventure, however I was wondering if anyone had any experience with the Cenex, Dollar General, or Piggly Wiggly. I have not noticed any signs, so I'm assuming I'm in the clear, I was just wondering if anyone had OC'd in any of those stores.

Thanks, and I hope to meet some of you at the rally this Saturday if I can make it

Vinnie

Welcome aboard.