Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Trying to sort out Michigans Handgun Purchasing rules for NON CPL holders

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1

    Question Trying to sort out Michigans Handgun Purchasing rules for NON CPL holders

    New to the site. Hope someone on here can answer a few questions on Purchasing & Transport to the gun range out of state for me.. No one in my area can get the firearm that i want BUT did find it in South Bend,Indiana. I know I have to get a LTP from/at my local dealer before I purchase the firearm in Indiana and then have it transfered to my local dealer in Michigan. Is there a time limit as to when the Purchase Record has to be sent back to the MSP? Ive read where you have 10 days to send it in. But if you have it transfered when does the 10 days start? Can it just be mailed in? I drive a semi cross country so im gone several days at a time so if my wife can send them in or take them in since one is going to be hers and the other mine that would be good.. & the other question my wife and I had is can we once registered & with out a CPL take our firearms back to indiana to the fireing range to shoot Legaly? or is that only allowed if you have a CPL? Thanks for the help in advance.. look forward to your answers.

  2. #2
    Regular Member griffin's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Okemos, MI
    Posts
    884
    Quote Originally Posted by fierotaz View Post
    New to the site. Hope someone on here can answer a few questions on Purchasing & Transport to the gun range out of state for me.. No one in my area can get the firearm that i want BUT did find it in South Bend,Indiana. I know I have to get a LTP from/at my local dealer before I purchase the firearm in Indiana and then have it transfered to my local dealer in Michigan. Is there a time limit as to when the Purchase Record has to be sent back to the MSP? Ive read where you have 10 days to send it in. But if you have it transfered when does the 10 days start? Can it just be mailed in? I drive a semi cross country so im gone several days at a time so if my wife can send them in or take them in since one is going to be hers and the other mine that would be good.. & the other question my wife and I had is can we once registered & with out a CPL take our firearms back to indiana to the fireing range to shoot Legaly? or is that only allowed if you have a CPL? Thanks for the help in advance.. look forward to your answers.
    The ten days starts once you "acquire" the pistol. Also, you can mail the license in, and according to the written law, the police seem to accept a postmark within the ten days as valid, although in reality people have turned in some licenses (like RI-60s) even six months late without problem.
    "If we lose freedom here, there's no place to escape to."
    "Liberals claim to want to give a hearing to other views, but then are shocked and offended to discover that there are other views." William F. Buckley
    "...go home from us in peace. We seek not your counsel, nor arms. Crouch down and lick the hand that feeds you. May your chains set lightly upon you; and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen." Samuel Adams
    Wheels

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •