Thread: Military out of state pistol purchase legal?

Military out of state pistol purchase legal?

Hello,
    I'm a Michigan resident on active duty military orders stationed in Ohio and I would like to purchase my first pistol in Ohio. Ohio doesn't (to my knowledge) have any laws requiring obtaining a license to purchase, registration, or passing of a test. As far as Ohio goes I can buy all the guns I want. My issue is with what the Michigan laws dictate about me purchasing out of state. Is it even legal to Michigan for me to do that? There is somewhat of a gray area there for me. I would like to be able to bring the weapon back to Michigan in the future. I've had plenty of firearms training in my career, but having to travel 300 miles to take a test and submit the paperwork, wait a few days and then register it is a bit of a hassle. What can I prep/do out of state? Also I'm not sure what laws they just changed. What can/should I do?

Federal law says you have to buy pistols in your state of residence. If you want to buy pistols in ohio, get an ohio drivers license.

Quote Originally Posted by Michigander View Post
    Federal law says you have to buy pistols in your state of residence. If you want to buy pistols in ohio, get an ohio drivers license.
    To get a second drivers license I'd have to give up Michigan's. I move states every 3-4 years, and it would be difficult to do that repeatedly let alone I like being a Michigan resident. I'm pretty sure that the signed Military Orders get around that part of the law though. I DO actually reside in Ohio due to the orders.

Quote Originally Posted by Michigander View Post
    Why can you order firearms from websites that aren't in your State, but can't travel a few hours to buy one yourself?

That doesn't make too much sense
    Molon Labe

[+=] Eleftheria i thanatos [+=]

Quote Originally Posted by MikeTheGreek View Post