Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Preparing to apply for CHP

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Eugene
    Posts
    2

    Preparing to apply for CHP

    All,

    I am a new member to this board, however a long time member to other hunting and shooting forums. I hope my questions does not over step my "newbie" status on this particular board.

    Anyways, I am a born/raised Oregonian...been around guns, hunting and shooting sports all my life. I am planning to obtain my concealed permit this coming summer when I turn 21. My question is in regards to steps I can make prior to the background check that is completed for the application:

    First, can I attend and have documents "signed off" if I attend concealed classes prior to being 21 years old? I hope my question is clear. I am not asking if I can be approved for the permit at this point. I am only asking if I can complete application paper work, like attending the classes, getting fingerprinted etc. before I turn 21? Basically, I would like to get as much done prior to turning 21...before the background check is initiated.

    Once I hit that 21, "legal" status, I would submit those documents for the background check etc.

    If I can not do those things above that I have described, would there be any steps prior to my 21st that I could take to prepare?

    I plan to call the local Sheriff's office to ask similar questions.

    Thanks for any insight you can provide. I have already learned a great deal from readings on this site.

  2. #2
    Anti-Saldana Freedom Fighter bigtoe416's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,748
    The law says nothing about having to be 21 to take the class or any other requirements. It only says that you have to be 21 to obtain one and that the affidavit you sign acknowledges that you are at least 21 years old.

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    oregon coast
    Posts
    3
    When I got mine, I was fingerprinted at the sheriff's office. The whole process took about an hour from when I handed them the paperwork to walking out the door after being printed if i remember correctly. I also don't see why you wouldn't be able to take safety classes before you turn 21; and you can also fill out the application beforehand, just wait to sign and date it when you go in. I'm not real sure what you mean by "having documents "signed off"?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Eugene
    Posts
    2
    Quote Originally Posted by handsomrob View Post
    When I got mine, I was fingerprinted at the sheriff's office. The whole process took about an hour from when I handed them the paperwork to walking out the door after being printed if i remember correctly. I also don't see why you wouldn't be able to take safety classes before you turn 21; and you can also fill out the application beforehand, just wait to sign and date it when you go in. I'm not real sure what you mean by "having documents "signed off"?
    I assumed I needed some kind of signed/approved documentation showing that I had attended and/or completed a knowledge or competence course. Thanks for the quick replies, I will definitely be looking more into this as the date gets closer.

  5. #5
    Regular Member Cremator75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Beaverton, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    393

    Re: Preparing to apply for CHP

    You should be given a certificate at the end of your class. Just give that to them when you do your application.

  6. #6
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Portland
    Posts
    42
    I compleated the class prior to being 21, I had no problem with the rest of the process. Turned the papers in on my birthday, got my chl a month later.
    "To defend my family, and protect our rights"

  7. #7
    Anti-Saldana Freedom Fighter bigtoe416's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Oregon
    Posts
    1,748
    If you're already proficient at handling firearms you can skip the in-person CHL class and take the Maryland online (and free) course on gun safety: http://www.mdgunsafety.com/

    You can complete it quickly and there's a certificate you print out at the end.

  8. #8
    Regular Member We-the-People's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    White City, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,234
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtoe416 View Post
    If you're already proficient at handling firearms you can skip the in-person CHL class and take the Maryland online (and free) course on gun safety: http://www.mdgunsafety.com/

    You can complete it quickly and there's a certificate you print out at the end.
    Unfortunately some counties (JACKSON) won't recognize the perfectly compliant Maryland Course.
    "The Second Amendment speaks nothing to an unfettered Right". (Post # 100)
    "Restrictions are not infringements. Bans are infringements.--if it reaches beyond Reasonable bans". (Post # 103)
    Beretta92FSLady
    http://forum.opencarry.org/forums/sh...ons-Bill/page5

    Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, nothing in any of my posts should be considered legal advice. If you need legal advice, consult a reputable attorney, not an internet forum.

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    earth's crust
    Posts
    17,838
    Quote Originally Posted by bigtoe416 View Post
    The law says nothing about having to be 21 to take the class or any other requirements. It only says that you have to be 21 to obtain one and that the affidavit you sign acknowledges that you are at least 21 years old.
    That's correct ... heck, have your newborn attend one, its good for life so get the most out of it!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •