Thread: Denied Permit to Purchase a hand gun

Denied Permit to Purchase a hand gun

I'm new to the discussion threads, but don't know where else to turn... I applied for a permit to purchase a gun and was denied. I have a clean background and am an upstanding citizen. However, 7 years ago during a rough patch in my life (beginning a divorce and losing custody of my son) I admitted myself into a mental institution until I could get through my depression. I was there for 4 months and released with a clean bill of mental health. The question on the permit to purchase application asked if I'd ever been committed to a mental institution, so I answered yes because I'd committed myself. Now I've been denied and I want to know your thoughts on appealing the denial decision.
    Any help would be greatly appreciated.

You need to move this to a state forum where you are from. Laws vary from state to state.
    It is well that war is so terrible otherwise we would grow too fond of it.
    Robert E. Lee
    The patriot volunteer, fighting for country and his rights, makes the most reliable soldier on earth.
    Thomas Jonathan "Stonewall" Jackson
    What separates the winners from the losers is how a person reacts to each new twist of fate.
    President Donald Trump

Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by heaven_923 View Post