• We are now running on a new, and hopefully much-improved, server. In addition we are also on new forum software. Any move entails a lot of technical details and I suspect we will encounter a few issues as the new server goes live. Please be patient with us. It will be worth it! :) Please help by posting all issues here.
  • The forum will be down for about an hour this weekend for maintenance. I apologize for the inconvenience.
  • If you are having trouble seeing the forum then you may need to clear your browser's DNS cache. Click here for instructions on how to do that
  • Please review the Forum Rules frequently as we are constantly trying to improve the forum for our members and visitors.

Shooting Stats

JohnM15A

Newbie here. I'm trying to weigh the advantages and disadvantages of carrying. After reading several posts it appears that the law in VA is fairly loose and one will most likely be charged for defending oneself. If the authorities don't charge you then the BG or his family will most likely sue you. It is obvious that one has to be VERY sure and VERY careful to weigh the tradeoffs to use the weapon. Yes, I know that it is better to be alive and sued then 6' under, I get that!

Is there any statistics that give self defense events, the charges brought, and any suits?

I would hate to be in a situation like Zimmerman is in...

Mongoose72

Reason for Carry

Remember most firearms defensive encounters involve the mere displaying of a gun and the criminal attempting a robbery simply goes away. The odds of you ever having to actually shoot someone are pretty small. There are a lot of websites documenting that guns are used over 1 million times per year for self defense purposes, usually without a shot having to be fired. Additionally, it is hard to estimate how many more crimes would occur if criminals didn’t know that 50% of households have a firearm; if a gun ban was ever implemented effectively home invasion style robberies would go through the roof.