Thread: Colt 1911 destroying Brass

Angry Colt 1911 destroying Brass

wondering if anyone here would be able to tell me what is causing my colt 1911 100th anniversary keeps messing my brass up.

i can see on the brass where the ejector grobs the rim. and on the same side the ejector grabs its flatening the brass out on the projectile end.

any suggestions on fixing this problem would be greatly app.

thanks
    Rob

1. Don't shoot it any more with it in its current condition. I'm not an expert, but it sounds like you're on the verge of having a ruptured case. Not good.
    2. I would take it to a reputable gunsmith. From your description, I would bet that the fix is going to take some doing and some specialized tools.
    "Happiness is a warm shotgun!!"
    "I am neither a pessimist nor a cynic. I am, rather, a realist."
    "The most dangerous things I've ever encountered were a Second Lieutenant with a map and a compass and a Private who was bored and had time on his hands."

It sound like your slide is not fully retracting during recoil~~What ammo are you using?

I have seen this happen when people use loads too light, or the recoil spring is too stiff.
    It is well that war is so terrible otherwise we would grow too fond of it.
    Robert E. Lee
    The patriot volunteer, fighting for country and his rights, makes the most reliable soldier on earth.
    Thomas Jonathan "Stonewall" Jackson
    What separates the winners from the losers is how a person reacts to each new twist of fate.
    President Donald Trump

Moderator / Administrator Grapeshot's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by WalkingWolf View Post
    It sound like your slide is not fully retracting during recoil~~What ammo are you using?

I have seen this happen when people use loads too light, or the recoil spring is too stiff.
    Agree - something is slowing the slide down - see above.

Clean and lube it, visually check, try it again.