Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Community (SnoCo) Transit policy: Have gun, will meet police

Community (SnoCo) Transit policy: Have gun, will meet police

Part of my job is to "inform and explain" company policies, so when I saw this in a training memo the other day I thought it bared mentioning, since it's completely different from the last time I heard about the subject (when drivers had more discretion about how to handle such situations). Notice they imply by omission that open carry is not actually legal, and any "known" firearm will get you contacted by SnoCo deputies. Might they be overstepping here by enabling the harassment of someone who's not breaking any laws, and is in fact exercising a protected right? As a driver I certainly wouldn't want to be a party to that, nor would I want to provoke an obviously armed criminal!

Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	ctpolicy.jpg 
Views:	646 
Size:	37.7 KB 
ID:	10159  
    It is very wise to not take a watermelon lightly.

Quote Originally Posted by Metalhead47 View Post
    Part of my job is to "inform and explain" company policies, so when I saw this in a training memo the other day I thought it bared mentioning, since it's completely different from the last time I heard about the subject (when drivers had more discretion about how to handle such situations). Notice they imply by omission that open carry is not actually legal, and any "known" firearm will get you contacted by SnoCo deputies. Might they be overstepping here by enabling the harassment of someone who's not breaking any laws, and is in fact exercising a protected right? As a driver I certainly wouldn't want to be a party to that, nor would I want to provoke an obviously armed criminal!

It will only take one law suit and that will change. I would hope that Snoco deputies would know the law if they were going to put in a possession to be sued.