Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Thousand Foot Rule?

Thousand Foot Rule?

New here and am glad that I found this Forum.Have been researching about the 2a.
    My question has to do with at which point is the 1k ft rule measured from.

Is it from the closest (from my approach) edge of the building
    or is it from the closest (from my approach) at the edge of the grounds that the building occupies.The reason I ask is that I am also new to the OC'ing
    and wish to begin where I am comfortable as a start.Which means walking about my curtilage which could be in the 1k ft rule (even up to my front door possible) ,or walking about parts of my neighborhood which would definitely put me inside the 1k ft. rule.

I can find out the school property edge from the county but I need to know from which point of reference the 1k ft. measurement is decided.
    Thanks for any information.

The answer to your question is:

(B) within a distance of 1,000 feet from the grounds of a public, parochial or private school.

The advice you will get if you ask (which is not legal advice, of course, this is the internet after all...) would be that you will drive yourself insane if you try to adhere to the letter of this law.

Not everyone agrees with my position, but I believe that it is literally impossible for about 99% of the residents of Virginia (who choose to carry a gun, of course) to not break this law. And those 1% that don't are hermits who live deep in the sticks and NEVER come out. It is simply impossible to live a "normal" life and never come within 1,000 feet of any school property.

The law states that it exempts "individual[s] possessing the firearm is licensed to do so by the State..."