Thread: pistol purchase permit

pistol purchase permit

Hello fellow open carriers. I'm gonna be purchaseing my first pistol a glock 23 next week. I turn 21 in june and i understand i cant buy a pistol from a ffl unless im 21. I can however buy a pistol from a private seller though only with a permit to purchase and to get the permit to purchase you have to be 18 correct? Just making sure i can get one and i dont needa be 21 to get a permit to purchase. Also isnt their some test you have to pass? I wonder if i showed the certificate i got from my cpl class if i'd still have to take it. Thanks for the help!

pistol purchase permit

18 for ptp

I think they did away with the silly test a second grader could pass.

Happy buying.
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

Quote Originally Posted by TheQ View Post
    18 for ptp

Happy buying.
    Awesome thanks! I figured it'd be a test with ease. I dont wanna waist time taking one if i dont have too. Thanks Q!

Re: pistol purchase permit

18 for ptp

Happy buying.
    A few years ago, I think I watched someone take it a second time... after failing it and having the clerk go over his answers that were incorrect.

Although the "test" was silly, any kind of test to exercise a right is antithetical to the Constitution (the whole "test" and "safety inspection" were to try to cover up the fact that it was REGISTRATION),
    Giving up our liberties for safety is the one sure way to let the violent among us win.