Thread: New guy here.

New guy here.

Hope I'm posting this in the right place. I've been reading this board for several days and decided to go ahead and register. I live in Pinson, AL. I'm new to handguns. I grew up with a 410 shotgun but never owned a handgun until recently.

My story of why I decided to invest in a pistol.... Three months ago my woke me in the middle of the night. She told me there is someone in the house. I sat up and just sat there and listen to see if I would hear any noises. Nothing. But my wife doesn't scare easily so I decided to get up and check things out. I went directly across the hall to where my youngest daughter was sleeping. All clear. The I had to proceed down the hall thru the den and to the kitchen to get my weapon...an 8 inch iron skillet. I proceed to clear the rest of the house. Luckily for me there was no one in the house. I have never felt so inadequately prepared in all my life. I told my wife I'm going to go buy a pistol and learn how to use it.

Welcome, I encourage you to check out BamaCarry on facebook. What area of Alabama is that in? Nearest large city? There are meetings all over the state, maybe we can find you a meeting to attend to talk with other 2nd Amendment supporters.

I have joined the BamaCarry FB page. Pinson is right by Trussville.

Quote Originally Posted by PBhere View Post
    I have joined the BamaCarry FB page. Pinson is right by Trussville.
    Pretty sure there are quite a few in the Trussville/Birmingham area, and I think there is a meeting somewhere nearby. I'm about an hour and a half north near Ft. Payne.

Regular Member Brimstone Baritone's Avatar
    I haven't heard of any meetings around here lately, but don't get discouraged. If you can't find one, make one. If you schedule it, they will come.