Thread: Do not go to newyork with a gun

Do not go to newyork with a gun

A truck driver from Milwaukee Was arrested for carrying a handgun. Here is the article:
    A truck driver from Milwaukee was sent to jail, after police in New York State said they caught him with an illegal handgun and other weapons. State troopers were doing a routine inspection of Michael Coulter’s truck at a checkpoint yesterday afternoon. They reportedly found a Hi-Point .40-caliber pistol for which he did not have a required permit. Police said he also had three magazines with 10 rounds each – three more rounds than what New York’s gun laws allow. The troopers said they also found a billy club, a dagger, and metal knuckles. The 45-year-old Coulter was sent to a county jail at Ellery in western New York, pending possible charges.

I know that you need their license to carry in their state. Being a truck driver, I thought he would have been aware of NY laws.

If he's passing through and knows about the checkpoint he should have encased it. He'd of been protected by federal transport law. Kinda screwed himself with knuckles and dagger.

Quote Originally Posted by Sorcice View Post
    If he's passing through and knows about the checkpoint he should have encased it. He'd of been protected by federal transport law. Kinda screwed himself with knuckles and dagger.
    He MIGHT have been protected. It depends on where he's going, because under that law your destination has to be a place where you can legally possess the firearm. If he had a NY destination, then he'd still be SOL.

I've also read where in some places in New York, even if the "safe passage law" applies, they'll still charge you and tell you "You can use that as your defense at your trial."

I would have entitled this thread "Do not go to New York. Period!"
    A. Gold

Failure to comply may result in discipline up to and including termination.
    The free man is a warrior. - Nietzsche "Twilight of the Idols"