Results 1 to 3 of 3

Thread: Oregon Open Carry Age Question

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    oregon
    Posts
    21

    Oregon Open Carry Age Question

    Hi, I am 19 years old. While I am under the federal age to purchase a handgun it is my understanding that I am able to purchase a handgun from a private seller. I have recently been looking at used handguns on armslist.com

    If I were to purchase a handgun from a private party, at my current age (19) would I be able to legally open carry said handgun.

  2. #2
    Regular Member hermannr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    Okanogan Highland
    Posts
    2,332
    Quote Originally Posted by catastrophic_success View Post
    Hi, I am 19 years old. While I am under the federal age to purchase a handgun it is my understanding that I am able to purchase a handgun from a private seller. I have recently been looking at used handguns on armslist.com

    If I were to purchase a handgun from a private party, at my current age (19) would I be able to legally open carry said handgun.
    Being an old retired Pfardt, and having lived in OR long ago (50's and 60's and I was a teen at that time) the old answer was yes, you can OC unlicensed at 18. That is one part of Oregon carry I have not kept up on, but I believe it to be still true.

    Where you look to find out is ORS 166, in particular ORS 166.170 and following. Carefully read all the regulations.. remember to note this concerns "concealed" weapons. look carefully at ORS 166.250(1)(c)(A), then read ORS 166.250(3) If it is in a holster on your hip, it is not to be considered "concealed" and many restrictions go away. Also pay attention to ORS 166.260.

    If all else fails and you are still nervous, ask a lawyer or a judge. Oh yes, and be careful of ORS 166.360-380. If you will look at ORS 166.360ff you will see there laws concern "possession" not a "concealed" weapon. Where the law concerns "possession" it applies to any possession, not just concealed possession. Those you want to know very well as they will apply to your unlicensed OC too.

    Be careful up around Portland. There are local government jurisdictions that have made use of ORS 166.173, and restrict LOADED unlicensed OC in their jurisdictions...OK? Read the law, study the law, know the law, and you will be able to abide the law.

    It states: "is under the age of 18" And in ORS 166.250(3)

    http://www.leg.state.or.us/ors/166.html
    Last edited by hermannr; 06-08-2013 at 01:39 PM.

  3. #3
    Regular Member We-the-People's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    White City, Oregon, USA
    Posts
    2,234
    YES

    Open carry of a handgun is legal at age 18. As you don't have a CHL you'll have to be cognizant of those areas that are prohibited to non CHL holders as well as local ordinances prohibiting the carry of LOADED firearms.
    "The Second Amendment speaks nothing to an unfettered Right". (Post # 100)
    "Restrictions are not infringements. Bans are infringements.--if it reaches beyond Reasonable bans". (Post # 103)
    Beretta92FSLady
    http://forum.opencarry.org/forums/sh...ons-Bill/page5

    Disclaimer: I am not a lawyer, nothing in any of my posts should be considered legal advice. If you need legal advice, consult a reputable attorney, not an internet forum.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •