Yes. You can OPEN carry in bars as long as you are not drinking.Originally Posted by I noticed that on [url
AND THEY CANNOT PREVENT YOU FROM OPEN CARRYING in their hotel! Montana Code Annotated 70-24-110 states that a landlord of a hotel cannot prevent a guest from possessing a legal firearm on their property. (Take a copy of the law with you in case you get questioned.)
70-24-110. Landlords and tenants -- no firearm prohibition allowed. A landlord or operator of a hotel or motel may not, by contract or otherwise, prevent a tenant or a guest of a tenant from possessing on the premises a firearm that it is legal for the tenant or guest to possess. A landlord or operator of a hotel or motel may prohibit the discharge of a firearm on the premises except in self-defense.
As for concealed carry, it is prohibited but only in "a room in which alcoholic beverages are sold, dispensed, and consumed." So you can carry concealed with a valid permit everywhere that alcohol is not sold, dispensed, or consumed.
45-8-328. Carrying concealed weapon in prohibited place -- penalty. (1) Except for legislative security officers authorized to carry a concealed weapon in the state capitol as provided in 45-8-317(1)(k), a person commits the offense of carrying a concealed weapon in a prohibited place if the person purposely or knowingly carries a concealed weapon in:
(a) portions of a building used for state or local government offices and related areas in the building that have been restricted;
(b) a bank, credit union, savings and loan institution, or similar institution during the institution's normal business hours. It is not an offense under this section to carry a concealed weapon while:
(i) using an institution's drive-up window, automatic teller machine, or unstaffed night depository; or
(ii) at or near a branch office of an institution in a mall, grocery store, or other place unless the person is inside the enclosure used for the institution's financial services or is using the institution's financial services.
(c) a room in which alcoholic beverages are sold, dispensed, and consumed under a license issued under Title 16 for the sale of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises.
(2) It is not a defense that the person had a valid permit to carry a concealed weapon. A person convicted of the offense shall be imprisoned in the county jail for a term not to exceed 6 months or fined an amount not to exceed $500, or both.
Your PA concealed permit should be valid in Montana. Check here:
Also, youy might like to know that there is a firearm range about 7-10 miles from town called the Deep Creek Range. The day-use range for non-members is open 5 days a week. It is closed to everyone including members on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. It has twenty-four covered firing points for shooting between (25) and (200) yards. They are available from 9:00 a.m. until 8:00p.m. or dusk, whichever comes first, The fee for using this range is $3.00 per day per shooter. Fees are payable at gate. Correct change is required.
Welcome to Montana.