Thread: Holster for Sig 229

Holster for Sig 229

I'm new to this OC concept and have yet to do it.

I sometimes CC a Sig 229 in an OWB Ted Blocker holster with a thumb break. From what I've read on here, that holster is probably not sufficient to OC from a retention standpoint. True? I know it is a judgment call, but I'm interested in opinions. The thumb break doesn't release too easily, but I suppose a determined gun grabber would be able to do it.

Second topic -- if my current holster isn't sufficient, what are some recommendations for a retention holster for a Sig 229?
    Last edited by jhfc; 06-26-2013 at 04:39 PM.

Any level 2 or 3 Safariland will do just fine. I use and suggest the 6280 model. Safariland retention holsters are 100% good, all of them. Pick one you like, and you'll be fine.

Any second now people will be coming by to suggest Blackhawk Serpa holsters. I suggest against these generally for the reasons of Tex Grebner and his 1911 (look it up on youtube) though you're safer with a DA pull, but you still have the issues of inferior reliability if any obstructions get into the mechanism, and an obvious release button, and rapid holster wear on your guns finish.
    Answer every question about open carry in Michigan you ever had with one convenient and free book- http://libertyisforeveryone.com/open-carry-resources/

The complete and utter truth can be challenged from every direction and it will always hold up. Accordingly there are few greater displays of illegitimacy than to attempt to impede free thought and communication.

Thanks for the info Michigander. Do you use that holster with a 229?

Also, I see on their website, a distinction between a 229 and 229R. I had no idea there were two variants, nor how to tell which variant I have.
    Last edited by jhfc; 06-27-2013 at 02:53 PM.

I have one for my 220, and one for my G20. Here is the 220.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	gunbelt.jpg