AGE REQUIREMENTS FOR THE PURCHASE AND POSSESSION OF WEAPONS:
North Carolina law does not currently address specific age requirements for the purchase of
Rather, it looks to the federal standards for such restrictions. Under federal law, 18
U.S.c. § 922(b)(I), federally licensed gun dealers are prohibited from selling handguns to
persons under the age of 21. Further, all other purchasers of shotguns and rifles are required to
be at least 18 years of age.
Therefore, while a pistol purchase permit can be issued to an
individual 18 years of age or older, such persons aged 18, 19, and 20 could not use the permit to
purchase a handgun from a federally licensed firearms dealer.
North Carolina General Statute § 14-269.7 provides that it is a misdemeanor for any person
under the age of 18 to willfully and intentionally possess or carry a handgun. A handgun is
defined as a firearm that has a short stock and is designed to be fired by the use of a single hand,
or any combination of parts from which such a firearm can be assembled.