Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Carrying question?

Carrying question?

My family has a family reunion every year at the Highland Recreation state park in Highland, MI. This year the person who is hosting it, and rented the pavilion expressed to me that if I were to show up carrying that they would contact DNR and the police to have me removed from the festivities. Is this legal??? If so, I guess I will be here at home safe while they enjoy themselves.

Carrying question?

The understanding I have received from various lawyers (of our persuasion) is that a private party who rents public property may exhibit control over it, up to and including banning firearms.

A better question to ask is: would you wish to cause drama at your family reunion?

What's more important to you? The family peace or your right to carry openly in a given day/place?

That answer lies only within you.
    Call for a cop, call for an ambulance, and call for a pizza. See who shows up first.

I am not a lawyer (merely an omnipotent member of a continuum). The contents of this post are not a substitute for sound legal advice from a licensed attorney in your jurisdiction.

Comments and views stated in my post are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of Michigan Open Carry, Inc. unless stated otherwise in the post.

A better question to ask is: would you wish to cause drama at your family reunion?

What's more important to you? The family peace or your right to carry openly in a given day/place?

Thank you for the response. The thing is this person is one of four or five that have the problem. The rest of the family could care less as they did a year ago. Someone else organized the day and did not care, this person vowed to put a stop to it.
    Last edited by Big Gay Al; 07-16-2013 at 01:06 PM. Reason: inserted quote tag

Huh???

Quote Originally Posted by [SIZE=5