Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: General information

  1. #1
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    101

    General information

    Long story short my company may be relocating me to Utah. I have a nevada concealed weapons permit but if this becomes a permanent move ill need to get a Utah one. Anyone know what the time requirement is for that?

  2. #2
    Centurion
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA
    Posts
    3,828
    Utah recognizes ALL permits issued by ANY County or State.
    RIGHTS don't exist without RESPONSIBILITY!
    If one is not willing to stand for his rights, he doesn't have any Rights.
    I will strive to stand for the rights of ANY person, even those folks with whom I disagree!
    As said by SVG--- "I am not anti-COP, I am PRO-Citizen" and I'll add, PRO-Constitution.
    If the above makes me a RADICAL or EXTREME--- So be it!

    Life Member NRA
    Life Member GOA
    2nd amendment says.... "...The right of the people to keep and bear arms SHALL NOT BE INFRINGED!"

  3. #3
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    101
    But if I become a Utah resident will I need a utah ccw nuch as ill need to get a utah drivers liscense?

  4. #4
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Syracuse, UT
    Posts
    17
    Quote Originally Posted by desertborn View Post
    Long story short my company may be relocating me to Utah. I have a nevada concealed weapons permit but if this becomes a permanent move ill need to get a Utah one. Anyone know what the time requirement is for that?
    Utah state law requires that your application be processed with 60 days of receiving the app. The department that processes the apps is pretty swamped lately, so they almost always end up taking the full 60 days.

    BTW, has a link to a very good, active website on this topic...
    http://www.utahconcealedcarry.com/vi...php?f=2&t=5497

    Regards.

  5. #5
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Provo, Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,076
    Nothing in Utah law says that you must have a resident concealed permit if you are a Utah resident. The only reason you would need to have a Utah permit would be for purposes of the Federal GFSZ.

  6. #6
    Campaign Veteran MAC702's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    6,520
    And I've never even heard of the unenforceable FGFSZ being an issue in a free state like UT.

    The only reason to get the UT one would be to avoid the question from a police officer as to why you don't have it. A simple "I haven't gotten around to it yet, and since my NV one is still good..." should suffice. UT cops are usually pretty good about stuff. If it were me, I'd get it anyway, but that is because I travel a lot and only have a UT permit for the other states that recognize it but not NV (and then I still had to get a FL one to go there...)

    But if you don't travel, there's no "need" to get the UT permit until your NV one is about to expire. That will save you money as the UT will be cheaper than renewing the NV one.

    You will be a lot closer to the states of WY and CO, and they won't recognize your NV permit.

    If you want to move on it, I can do the required instruction for the UT permit whenever you want. Then, a simple address change will change it from a non-resident permit to a resident permit if you move. If you happen to be within a year of your NV renewal submittal, we can roll it into one day.
    Last edited by MAC702; 07-21-2013 at 08:54 PM.
    "It's not important how many people I've killed. What's important is how I get along with the people who are still alive" - Jimmy the Tulip

  7. #7
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    101
    The part I kick my self for, is when I got my NV one I also stayed for the UT one but I lost the paperwork for it. As far as travelling I'm not allowed to take a fire arm when travelling for work (which aucks hut its mostly Cali anyway). All the other states I go too recognize all permits or have reciprocity with Nevada. I guess its a moot point now that I got passed over anyway. Thanks for all the helpful answers though!

  8. #8
    Campaign Veteran MAC702's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    6,520
    Quote Originally Posted by desertborn View Post
    The part I kick my self for, is when I got my NV one I also stayed for the UT one but I lost the paperwork for it. As far as travelling I'm not allowed to take a fire arm when travelling for work (which aucks hut its mostly Cali anyway). All the other states I go too recognize all permits or have reciprocity with Nevada. I guess its a moot point now that I got passed over anyway. Thanks for all the helpful answers though!
    If your instructor remembers you, he can just stamp and sign a new application for you with the original date on it. It's good for one year from date of certification.

    If you travel in your own car, nothing stops you from travelling with your firearm. You just have to make it uselessly locked away unloaded while driving in California.
    "It's not important how many people I've killed. What's important is how I get along with the people who are still alive" - Jimmy the Tulip

  9. #9
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    101
    Not even allowed to have a firearm in my vehicle when I'm at work here lol. I don't even believe any of my handguns are california compliant.
    Do you know if they are going to apply the one qualification for both handguns retroactively? If not I may just have to get a neww ccw regardless. I occasionally miss carryong my revolver

  10. #10
    Campaign Veteran MAC702's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    Nevada
    Posts
    6,520
    Quote Originally Posted by desertborn View Post
    Not even allowed to have a firearm in my vehicle when I'm at work here lol. I don't even believe any of my handguns are california compliant.
    Do you know if they are going to apply the one qualification for both handguns retroactively? If not I may just have to get a neww ccw regardless. I occasionally miss carryong my revolver
    When October 1 rolls around, regardless of what handgun(s) is listed on your permit, it is automatically good for all handguns, and the police have been trained on the issue. We had no problems with this before when the law allowed all semi-autos even when the old permits listed a specific model.

    In a right-to-work state, you can be fired for any reason. So the most you risk is termination for having a firearm against company policy. Which means keep it concealed. But I don't remember if you said where you work is.
    Last edited by MAC702; 07-29-2013 at 08:33 PM.
    "It's not important how many people I've killed. What's important is how I get along with the people who are still alive" - Jimmy the Tulip

  11. #11
    Regular Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Las Vegas
    Posts
    101
    I signed a contract before I owned firearms. . And a lot of my work is at such great places as the las vegas convention center or a casino. I'd conceal at work but its not worth the riak of being caught and off body carry doesn't sound like a good idea to me

  12. #12
    Regular Member jpm84092's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
    Posts
    1,068

    UT Resident Permit Makes Sense - But So Does A Non-Resident UT Permit

    MAC702 makes a good point - that once you move to UT you probably should get a UT resident permit (now good in NH, MI, FL, and CO) as the UT permit has much better reciprocity nation-wide. If you do not take the course from him, I am also a Utah concierge instructor once you relocate here in UT. I recommend that you keep your NV permit active for trips back to NV.
    My cats support the Second Amendment. NRA Life Member, NRA Instructor: Pistol, Rifle, & Personal Protection - NRA Certified Range Safety Officer, Utah BCI Certified Concealed Firearm Permit Instructor.
    "Permission Slips" from Utah, Pennsylvania, Nevada, Arizona, and Florida. _ Verily, thou shalt not fiddle with thine firearm whilst in the bathroom stall, lest thine spouse seek condolences from thine friends.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •