Thread: Who owns what

Who owns what

How do you go about determining who owns a business? (Whether it's government run or otherwise?)

Quote Originally Posted by jfslicer View Post
    How do you go about determining who owns a business? (Whether it's government run or otherwise?)
    The easiest way is to try and locate a website and the about us section. They typically mention their founding and ownership.

If a website and about us section is not around or helpful, you can typically lookup the address location and get a tax parcel number and look up who has the deed/ownership of the property.

Might try calling and asking too?
    I Am Not A Lawyer, verify all facts presented independently.

It's called the "American Dream" because you have to be asleep to believe it. - George Carlin

I carry a spare tire, in case I have a flat. I carry life insurance, in case I die. I carry a gun, in case I need it.

Quote Originally Posted by slapmonkay View Post
    ... you can typically lookup the address location and get a tax parcel number and look up who has the deed/ownership of the property. ...
    That's how I do it. My county tax rolls are on line, quick and easy to use, but I would look to who paid the most recent property tax.
    I am responsible for my writing, not your understanding of it.

Banned
    Quote Originally Posted by jfslicer View Post
    generally, the sec. of state's for states maintain business records. Gov't corporations? Usually a given.

ex:

http://www.ilsos.gov/corporatellc/Co...eLlcController

ramdom state
    Last edited by davidmcbeth; 07-25-2013 at 06:17 PM.

Thanks!

If it's a WA entity, the corporations search at the secretary of state's web site can be very helpful. If it turns up, be sure to click on the "View Additional Information" link.
    Rev. Robert Apgood, Esq.